1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clutch needed and best remap for 3.0tdi

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by daveyboy70, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. daveyboy70

    daveyboy70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone give me aroundabout price on a new clutch and fitted for my 3.0 tdi quattro auto 2005, just want a figure before i go to garage and have a shock!!
    Also i was looking at a ecu remap, have had a quote off angel tuning, £195, 50bhp increase, is this good??
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S4

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,055
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    I'm puzzled. Why would you need a new clutch on an automatic?
     
    Brodster likes this.
  4. daveyboy70

    daveyboy70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, ok , im new to auto`s!!, is a torque converter then? when i pull off especially, the revs rise rapidly but not the speed of the car, just like a clutch ! would in a manual car, when warmed up it doesnt seem as bad and when im in tiptroic mode. Any help please!
     
  5. Joe_Murphy21187

    Joe_Murphy21187 Tiptronic

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    66
    Just asked a similar question in Carl's thread, is it worth upgrading th torque coverter in an auto? (if it can be done?)
     
  6. Paul B7

    Paul B7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    33
    I have been driving autos for 25 years and have never heard of a torque converter being "upgraded", hell I have never heard of one failing . Sure they get replaced, but usually only when a box has failed and metal fragments etc are running around the sytem.
     
  7. Joe_Murphy21187

    Joe_Murphy21187 Tiptronic

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    66
    Does that mean that theoretically a torque converter has not upper torque limit then?? Don't know much about auto's, was fascinated when I first learnt auto box's dont just use an automatic clutch!
     
  8. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S4

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,055
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    My thoughts precisely. Here's theWiki page on how torque converters work, for those unfamiliar with them.
     
  9. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S4

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,055
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    What you've described there sounds like the normal operation of a torque converter, but if you are worried about, why not have it checked out? Do you know anyone who is experienced in driving automatics, who could drive it and give you an opinion on whether it is behaving normally or abnormally?

    All I would add is that until you are satisfied there is nothing wrong with the torque converter, you should hold off getting the engine re-mapped.
     
  10. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S4

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,055
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    I would imagine that, like most other major mechanical components, they are designed and built to different specifications depending on the application for which they are intended. After all, I don't imagine the torque converter used in a Roll-Royce Phantom is built to same spec as that used in an Astra Automatic. I think what Paul B7 was alluding to was that they have an in-built element of "over-engineering" - a safety margin if you like.
     
  11. A4_MaJiK

    A4_MaJiK Azeem

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    108
    Torque converters are designed to slip, hence why automatics tend to be so irresponsive and "lazy" (choosing my words carefully here) unless they have the ability to lock up (most modern ones do) to a selected gear then that does help. This is the reason I wouldn't get an automatic unless its a dual clutch system like they use in many supercars and sports cars as they do not use torque converters. This the reason you see the difference on specified 0-60 times.

    There are upper limits in place as with all manufactured components. Although the failure point would probably be approximately around twice the torque you produce (don't quote me) due to the design.
     
  12. daveyboy70

    daveyboy70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for thoughts, will defo leave remap for a while until im happy, just it seems to be slipping more than it did when i first got car
    . Will take to local garage and see if they think there`s a problem.
     
  13. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    175
    Do you have issues reversing up a slope?
    My A6 does this and feels lazy to drive too.
    Its been suggested it might be low on oil.
     
  14. daveyboy70

    daveyboy70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does seem lazy when reversing off my steep drive, is that low on torque converter oil? or engine oil??!
     
  15. HEKTOR

    HEKTOR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    12
    Torque converters fail on the c5 rs6 often and are a know weak point. Some choose to upgrade this item using the ACE torque converter. Speaking to someone like JJB Motors, MRC, Unit20 or Bahnstorm will shed a little more light on this subject along with your issues.
     
  16. fishyfish

    fishyfish Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    37
    Seeing as its a 2005 build, I'd be inclined to get the gearbox fluid/oil changed as a first step. The official Audi line is that the ZF boxes are "sealed for life" and don't need it, but I reckon that's got to be baloney... I think its generally accepted that what they really mean is "sealed until after your warranty runs out".

    Having spoken to an auto box specialist about getting mine serviced (been acting a bit grabby on downshifts lately), he said its not uncommon that the fluid slowly weeps out around the gearbox pan seal on the ZF 6HP (which I have) and it can need topping up. I figure its actually a good idea to replace the pan, filter, and as much of the oil as possible, as general preventative maintenance, as I am coming up to nearly 100K miles.
     
  17. carl-1968

    carl-1968 A4 sold, lots of bits available, ask for details

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    30
    my Torque converter is pants!, anyone got a spare for sale so I can get it refurbished and swap it out with my original?
    Thanks
    Carl
     
  18. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    88
    Got to need an oil change, or even check the level, where are you based we are in the north east and can look at the problem aswell as remap it
     
  19. andy1acars

    andy1acars Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    14
    Mine is a 3.0tdi auto and mapped. No slip and it just launches and the only way you feel it change is the engine note, its super smooth at changing. As advised, oil change first and check for leaks.
     
  20. Soot1

    Soot1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    69
    As mentioned earlier transmission oils and diff oils last the lifetime of a car, and the manufacturer assumes the car's lifetime will be 8years. So yes they do need changing. More than likely, this problem is lack of oil in the box.
     
  21. desertstorm

    desertstorm Well-Known Member
    Audi A4

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    949
    Don't even bother thinking about a remap till you are 100% happy that the gearbox is good because the first thing thats liable to fail is the box if there is an issue with it. As above could just be low on oil but if it is what is left in the box has been working harder and if the torque convertor has been slipping a lot the oil may have been overheated. Probably better to change the oil and filter.
     

Share This Page