1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cluster removal

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dusty, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. dusty

    dusty Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    8
    im going to be removing my cluster at the weekend, so that my d.i.s. can be replaced as its barely readable, does anyone know if my cluster will need re coding with vcds when i re fit it, or does it only need re coding if i replace the actual cluster thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. sportquattro

    sportquattro Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    34
    I think only if you replace it, i've had mine out and back in with no problems
     
  4. dusty

    dusty Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    8
    thanks for clearing that up for me, didnt want to take the cluster out without knowing for sure
     
  5. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    168
    Had mine in and out a few times over the last week while attempting my RNS-E retrofit. So yeah you dont need to recode it when it goes back in it does lose the memory of the time setting etc but thats it.

    The only advise i read online was that you shouldnt turn on the ignition when you have the clocks out as people have said it can make the immobiliser go a bit funny and wont let you start the car afterwards. So i just made sure i didnt do this.

    There are 3 plugs on the back of the clocks a blue a grey and a green one of which one was a pain to undo and plug back in as the cable is a little short.

    I took the plastic cover off my clocks whilst i had them out to give it a bit of a clean and also remove the dead fly that had managed to get inside there.
     
  6. Danio

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    22
    My clocks been taken out for several times and Never had any problem with it
     
  7. dannyh

    dannyh Nogaro S3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    12
    No probles at all, as said dont turn the ignition when the clock are out just to be on the safe side, and make sure you post up you results and if time a how to guide :)
     
  8. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    168
    to get the clocks out is a peice of cake.

    lower the steering wheel and pull it out as far as it will go.

    There is a piece of trim just below the clocks which you just pull off.

    Behind this are 2 x philips screws (they can be a bit tight to undo) remove these.

    then using the 2 little things you use to reset the odometer etc just pull the clocks out so that you can access the back to undo the 3 connectors.

    the connectors have an arm on them that needs to be moved upwards to release it from the clocks.

    Refit by doing the reverse.
     
  9. dusty

    dusty Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    8
    thanks for the replys, i may take a few pictures and try and do a bit of a guide my computer skills are very limited though, my mate is doing the actual d.i.s replacement will let you know how it all goes
     

Share This Page