1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Climate control units

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Ash187, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    ok so here is the breakdown on the heater units:

    crappy manual heater knobs from 2003 i believe:

    [​IMG]

    nothing nice or exciting about these... if you have it then i suggest you sell your car and get a new one that has a proper climate control unit as there is no way to convert it!


    climate control units from 2003/2004 (not sure when they first came out)

    [​IMG]

    available in single and double din versions, pretty standard units... side note - hold down the auto button for 3 seconds to match the passengers temp to the drivers side.


    climate control from 2008:

    [​IMG]
    will work on 57 plate cars onwards... double din climate units only... you can try to plug it into an older car but all the functions just wont work properly. look nice and updated.


    modified climate control units:

    [​IMG]

    this is the hybrid that i completed which has the chrome knobs on the older climate unit so that us who have older cars can still have the bling :)
    details for the conversion is here http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...ft-chome-climate-control-module-switches.html
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. dancupra225
    Offline

    dancupra225 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    Does your econ stay on all the time ?
    #2
  4. bmh.01
    Offline

    bmh.01 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    There is a problem with the AC if it does.
    #3
  5. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Boycie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    194
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    Where to get just the chrome knobs?
    #4
  6. Lewbo
    Offline

    Lewbo OEM Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    Have to buy a climate and take the off just keep your eyes peeled on eBay they do come up cheap I have seen a few now, next time I come across one I will post the link.
    #5
    Boydie likes this.
  7. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    my econ doesnt stay on all the time. i just prefer to leave it on :p

    the chrome knobs have to come from a donor unit, but as you can see in the link i put above when i made the hybrid i have put the old knobs on the facelift unit and it works perfectly.
    #6
  8. dancupra225
    Offline

    dancupra225 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    Yh my econ stays on a the time still get heating etc as normal just werid
    #7
  9. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    if you cant turn the 'econ' off then your air con is fubard! lol
    get the car to a aircon specialist and find out what it is
    #8
  10. Tempy
    Offline

    Tempy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    Ash, hope you dont mind me posting in here to say that I have a 2008 unit (does not have heated seat buttons) going in the classifieds very shortly if anyone is looking. It's in excellent condition. No chips, dents or marks.
    #9
  11. PSDA3
    Offline

    PSDA3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    HI mate,

    Ive recently purchased an A3 ,just for work, and 1 i can tinker around with at wknds etc. Its a 2004 Model, no Air Con, Its the standard heating unit. Could I for cosmetics alone hook up the digital Air con unit, and it would still work ok with my heating etc?

    This is the standard unit i have.:

    [​IMG]
    #10
  12. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    No that unit cannot be changed, the connectors at the back are totally different and won't allow your heating to plug in or work.
    #11
  13. manor13
    Offline

    manor13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    87
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    I have 2006 sportback with the single din concert, heated seats option and i want to do the double din upgrade.
    I have a donor 56plate car with double din concert but the heater unit has no heated seats, so what unit can i fit to replace my old one?
    am i right i can take the cage and the d/din concert(until I can afford rns unit??
    #12
  14. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    You would need to get a double din heated seats version climate control. You would need to avoid the chrome knobbed ones as those work for 2007+ cars.
    I picked one up last year for around £60 which is a fairly good price considering they usually go for about £100+

    Yes you can use the cage and stereo until you get an rnse
    #13
    manor13 likes this.
  15. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    110
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Or you can shave the edges of yours to fit, just make a template from card.
    #14
    manor13 likes this.
  16. Mahyar1995
    Offline

    Mahyar1995 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 30, 2014]
    Hi I have recently bought a 2010 a3 se I have the standard knobs for my heating system I was wondering if I could simply unplug it and replace it with the climate control unit, any help will be appreciated thanks
    #15
  17. evildream
    Offline

    evildream New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 7, 2014]
    Hi, I have 06/2007 A3 and I have a similar question: can i do a straight upgrade from my pre-facelift climatronic to facelift climatronic with chrome knobs or i will have the aircon flaps problem i've read somewhere? Thanks.
    #16
  18. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Aug 7, 2014]
    No, standard knobbed heater systems cannot be changed. As I first said in post 1... Get a new car for climate control

    Your sitcom won't work with the newer units. You would need to do the hybrid swap as I have in mine. (Bottom of post 1)
    #17
  19. Mike X
    Offline

    Mike X Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 7, 2014]
    Thanks to Ash , I did the hybrid thing , looks ace , well pleased .
    #18

Share This Page