1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Climate control unit frozen!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Ads, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    579
    My climate control unit has stopped working. It's on, looks normal (i.e. displaying the temp, air flow speed, etc etc of the last setting I had it on) and air is coming out of the vents, but none of the buttons work.
    I can't change anything, turn on the heated rear window, front demister. Nothing works!
    Tried turning off car and back on again but still no luck.

    Happened about a week ago but started working again.

    Has it died? Anybody else have this happen to theirs??
    #1
  2. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    What does vagcom say? Can you try to just unplug the unit? (disconnecting battery causes other issues LOL) It just pulls out & has IIRC, 3 plugs into the back of it.
    #2
  3. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    579
    Worked! :icon_thumright:
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Glad its working again. Might be an idea to keep an eye on ebay though!
    #4
  5. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    579
    Stopped working again!! And disconnecting/reconnecting hasn't worked this time.

    Plugged in vagcom and the only faults I had were generated by disconnecting the unit.
    Ran some output tests on the aircon unit (HVAC???) and all funtions worked, just not when trying to press the actual buttons on the unit.

    However, after running these output tests the unit's buttons started working again, but stopped after a few days.

    Anybody else had this problem before, or got any ideas of a fix other than buying a new unit??
    #5

Share This Page