1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Climate Control Unit - Fitting

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Cruiser89, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Hey guys!!

    Just got given a 2 zone climate control unit for my 59 A3.

    LINK

    I have the bog standard aircon (3 dials) unit at the mo. Has anybody ever retro-fitted this bit of kit, well more importantly is it a direct swap or am i gonna have to do any modding on the bits behind??



    Cheers in advance guys!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Dont know of anybody that has done it. It will be an awful amount of work! The whole airbox in the dash will probably need changed to one that has the electric motors as opposed to the cable operated one you have. Will also require a lot of rewiring & probably coding using VCDS. Unless you have a car at a breakers where you can grab everything & your technically minded I would say its too much.
    #2
  4. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Ahh the technical side isn't a problem in regards to doing work and and using vagcom.

    Iv just never seen anyone do it on here. Think i may take it out tonight and see what the deal is!
    #3
  5. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    could you get some pics as an insight, there are very few models without the full climate.
    #4
  6. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Yeahh will do!!
    #5
  7. waqi
    Offline

    waqi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    :O I didn't think this was possible! I could live without air con (I think) but the electronic climate should have been standard!
    #6
  8. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Ahh anything is possible my good man!!

    This is what I have atm with aircon built in.

    [​IMG]

    But im willing to open it up and have a look to see what is behind it! If its not a direct fit (wiring/electrical) then I'll have to have a thinksy!!

    I'll post up the results and open it for debate!
    #7
  9. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    as i said, you need to be brave!

    [​IMG]
    #8
  10. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    From looking at your car... You had a single din system? The climate unit you have there is the old school one.

    I have had my dash apart and most of it is pretty organised behind there and is pretty easy to pull apart and put back together!

    But will post up pictures and if it all works i will do a how to guide if people would like one. :)
    #9
  11. V6Pete
    Offline

    V6Pete Now running on Bentley's y'all

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    F*ck buying a brand new A3 and ripping the contents of the dash apart!!!!
    #10
  12. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Its easy as 123 when you know what you're doing.

    Goes back exactly the way it did before and looks exactly the same
    #11
  13. V6Pete
    Offline

    V6Pete Now running on Bentley's y'all

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Just with a few rattles and some spare screws ;)
    #12
  14. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Lol

    Never happened, never will as long as you plan and organise!
    #13
  15. V6Pete
    Offline

    V6Pete Now running on Bentley's y'all

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 11, 2010]
    Yeah easier said that done when I pick up a spanner!
    #14
  16. waqi
    Offline

    waqi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2010]
    :faint:
    bring on the trumpets! sorry i meant how to guide :icon_thumright:
    #15
  17. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 12, 2010]
    Hey, thats my old 8L A3, looks worse than it was - that was it at its worse LOL. Never caught the 59 plate bit!! I would leave it till its at least out of warrenty! LOL
    #16

Share This Page