1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

climate control glitch

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by steve184, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone ever had climate control stick on econ mode (ie, AC switched off) - had this today, thought, its gettin bloody warm in here, and couldnt feel cold coming out of vents event tho temp on 19, then looked down and econ light was on, but when i pressed it, the light went off only while i held the button in, once released it the light was on again. Stoped my engine at some red lights and restarted and it worked again

    Anyone had this? Is it trying to tell me something??
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Jay.Ing

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    33
  4. Kitsch

    Kitsch Seat - Skoda - Audi

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I had the same problem much on a hot day like these, apparently a stone had punctured the A/C radiator (you could see the damage). cost to repair £750 so I claimed under insurance £250.
     
  5. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    well - ive only notice it happen once, could this be a one off or is it pretty conclusive that once is enough and it will happen again... i know exactly why it would happen however, car has just been repaired following a minor front end bump - main radiator and some other parts were replaced, and i know from the invoice the ac was re-gassed, so obviously there was some damage to the ac system also.
     
  6. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    got to the bottom of this - had an ADT out today from roadside assist, and they have confirmed the pressure in the system is too high - 29bar and should be 10bar with engine running apparently, so its causeing the system to shut down to prevent damage. This is obviously an issue with the recent repairs i had done where the ac system needed regassing. Just don't know why people can't follow the book wiht these things raqther than just guessing!
     
  7. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    maybe they gassed it to the 8L requirements. kwik fit did it to somebody else on the forum already....
     
  8. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    does the 8L take more than 525 grams then?
     
  9. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    according to Autodata, 8L takes 775g(+-25) and 8P takes 525g(+-25)
     
  10. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    perhaps thats whats happended then - but whatever happened its resulting in more than double the pressure in the ac system than what should be there.
     
  11. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    well took it back to the garage and they re-gassed it based on what i told them about what the ADT said - and hey presto on way home from work today and econ light stuck on again - so over-gassing is not the problem

    Anybody clued up who knows what this could possibly be?
     
  12. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
  13. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep read it all - all exactly whats happening - had the system emptied vacuumed out and refilled with exactly 520g of refridgerant - i watched the guy do it, so its got the right amount of gas in it - but for some reason it is still tripping out and is going into econ mode
     
  14. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    It could be fault high or low pressure sensor. Or the compressor itself, but not so likely with those symptoms. Have you got access to vag.com? If the HP or LP cutout was either at fault or simply kicking in there should be a log.

    To be honest I would say that the fault was caused directly from the repair or indirectly from it being over pressurised!
     
  15. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmmmm - well when the ADT put his computer on it (vag com i presume) he said it had logged a fault of overpressure, ie, it was hitting the 29bar threshold the sensor can read and then the ECU was shutting the system down - causing to go into forced econ mode.

    balls.... i can see this being a back and forth affair - as some days (cooler days) the ac seems to work ok enough for the garage to not see a problem, yet i get a wet damp muggy day the day after and im sat in a car which is misting up to the hilt inside and getting really warm

    They are trying to say its prob a seperate issue with the console in the dash but come on.... what kind of coincidence is that, after a small bump, suddenly start havin issues with the ac
     
  16. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    Yes if the car was logging the pressure cut out before then you need to get it looked at this time for sure. That's the first step in the fault diagnosis. Where abouts are you?

    If you want to replicate the fault on a cooler day you could try turning the temp down to Lo and turn the fan speed down. This will increase the pressure in the system. A normal system should be able to cope with that though.

    The fault should still be logged anyway so this should be necessary unless you clear the faults then do it to make sure you're reading the right data.
     
  17. Caesium

    Caesium My BM is fixed!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    That really annoys me, why don't manufacturers put mesh in front of the vulnerable evaporator to protect it. Might be worth thinking about.
     
  18. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    I just went to have a look at which radiator is positioned where. It's quite hard to tell but it looks like the engine cooling radiator is at the back and the condensor (not the evaporator as that's in the dash) is at the front. The intercooler should be at the bottom correct? They have to put them that way round as if the radiator gets hit you break down, rather than just lose air con. But a mesh would be a good idea yeah.

    A lad I know has taken the lower grille off of his GTI Ed30 because it "looks better".
     
  19. Caesium

    Caesium My BM is fixed!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4


    Yeah sorry, I realised my mistake, its the condenser at the front, the refrigerant gets cold when it evaporates and warm when it condenses..doh!

    The intercooler is normally off to one side, on my A4 it was in front of the NS wheel.
     
  20. Felix A3

    Felix A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    There might be a blockage in the system.
    Its not unusual for the dessicant bag in the receiver dryer to break up and you end up with balls of dessicant spread throughout the whole system. It tends to block up the TX valve first (or orifice tube) which then causes overpressure in the system.
     
  21. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope none of these! turns out the fuse for the fans had blown and hadn't been replaced, ie, i'm driving around with no fan function at all unbeknown to me - what a stupid mistake to make by a garage which could ultimately cause engine damage (although pretty unlikely im told on a diesel)

    As i said earlier, why can't these places do the job properly?
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    I talked about the fans in the FAQs thread I posted Steve.

    I assumed you had checked the fan was running.
     
  24. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    well yes but i presumed the 'highly-trained audi technicians' wouldn't have missed such a simple thing as this
     
  25. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    58
    But of course!
     
  26. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,138
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    I was just about to say its the fuse as Mattandrew & few others had same fault with econ staying on, but beaten to the post.
     

Share This Page