1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Climate control Diagnosis....anyone????

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by J7USS, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 5, 2007]
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=39793

    ..well further to my earlier thread I now have managed to get closer to the prob I think, just need some advice and help from you more experienced members out there.....

    Right then this might get a little lenghty so bare with me..

    I took it back to the "air con specialist" today and had a chat with him, He's now saying hes confident the Air compressor unit is ok, it works as he put power to it directly. Its just when he connects it back up to the control unit that is doesnt want to work...

    I commented that its the control unit then eh...not exactly he said. He ran diagnostics on it with 2 diff units and none of them come back with a fault code, nothing at all. He spoke to a guy from Hella in Germany and he said he is almost certain that if it was the control unit then a fault would be registered. Its had a new switch/sensor just before the compressor but still no joy.

    He is saying that somewhere in between the control unit and this new switch next to the compressor unit is where the fault is. Now he is saying he would put it down to a broken connection, another sensor (if poss) or something along them lines.He beleives its not an expensive bill coming on, he reckons its going to be something little - but where the bloody hell is it!!!!! He said there is aprox 6 diff switches/sensors/valves between this that could be the cause of the fault but he's not quite sure....hmmmmm So what do I do guys???

    He wants to look at it but to be honest I dont really have much confidence in this guy and would rather take it to a car electronic to have a look because if it is something more likely to be electrical then surely they stand a better chance in finding it...

    If its an electrical fault then would they stand better chance in finding the fault???

    The air con guy said the Gas is there and runs nice and chilled when its wired direct but its just when its reconnected back up properly.

    Surely there should be some sort of fault code registering somewhere but there aint one. Its showing nothing at all..:think:.. im just completely lost with this one.

    Another thing I noticed was when I switched the climate control on LO and put fan speed up to say 2 bars, its goes up 2 more then drops back down and keeps repeating that so in other words its altering speed constantly - is this a sign of faulty control unit??? or is it a fact that its trying to sort the temperature out but obviously cant because the Fault is stopping it...???

    Something aint doing what it should be doing and stopping the compressor from activating..

    So come on Folks, hit me, throw me some suggestions, Im all ears...!!!!!....:icon_thumright:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 29, 2014]

  3. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 5, 2007]
    ...dont be shy now...
    #2
  4. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 5, 2007]
    I dont know much about aircon systems but if you arent confident in this guy i would seek a second opinion from another specialist.
    Might be something really simple.
    Good luck its going to get quite hot soon.
    #3
  5. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 5, 2007]
    Exactly, already sampled the hot weather with no Chill...
    #4
  6. terrysingh
    Offline

    terrysingh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 6, 2007]
    a mate of mine had a hidden fault with his air con on his mk5 golf, took it to 2-3 air con places, they cameup with a difference reason every time????

    he decided to take it to the dealers whos diag showed a wireing fault, i think there was some sort of ground which did'nt show up in the vagcom stuff,

    have you tried the dealers????

    i took mine to the dealers about the tappet noise today, there master tech heard the noise and diagnosed it stright away, some dealers are quite good!
    #5
  7. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 6, 2007]
    yeah I have thought of taking it to the dealers but its just the massive labour they'll charge me.

    That could be exactly what it is though because the guy did mention it could be a ground somewhere.

    hmmmm, what to do I dont know!!...:think:
    #6
  8. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 23, 2007]
    Ive got to take a plunge and hit the dealers I think, pissing me off now...
    #7
  9. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 23, 2007]
    trouble is, if ther dealer finds it in 1 hour thats going to save you more in time and effort that going to different AC specialists.
    #8
  10. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 24, 2007]
    Very true as alot of people have told me, I just hope they do find it within the hour!!!!:faint:
    #9
  11. Superdoug
    Offline

    Superdoug New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 15, 2007]
    Well what did the dealer tell you?
    #10
  12. enda1
    Offline

    enda1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 15, 2007]
    If you send me a PM I can send you the shematic for your aircon system. Just include the model year engine code. This should help your guy narrow down the switches that could be faulty. Most of the sensors are quick disconnct and don't require the system to be drained.
    #11
  13. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 15, 2007]
    The dealer corrected the cock up what my so called specialists done.
    My switch was connected the wrong way round, Dont know which one but it wasnt connected correctly so ill be going to the Garage and telling them straight they better sort me out with some sort of compensation as I spent £250+ with them and they still didnt fix it and they can compensate me for the Hr's labour what I paid to the Main dealers.

    Pissed me off but its true what they say about the Stealers, They know exactly what they are doing in certain areas!!
    #12

Share This Page