1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Climate Control dead line of pixels on drivers side - how to fix?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by davebirl, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. davebirl
    Offline

    davebirl 2002 S3 MTM Stg III 345bhp

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Folks, I've sold my S3 and bought a 2004 A4 Avant Sport.

    One issue is there is a line of dead pixels on the screen of the drivers side. All the buttons are perfect with no wear but the screen is annoying me to look at it.

    Is it possible to repair these or maybe swap the little LCD panel from another unit?

    Has anyone encountered this before?

    I've found repair kits for the B5 but nothing for the B6/B7 yet.

    Any help is much appreciated. Thanks
    #1
  2. archemist
    Offline

    archemist Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dave

    I'm in the middle of a double din swap so will have the innards of a CC unit available let me know.

    Generally the back of the unit is identical - not sure about heated seats tho - so you can swap your front panel form yours over. i have the inside 'back' box with the lcd's but not the face panel / switches. faceplate swap is fiddly but you'd have to do that anyway ot get at the Lcd's me thinks?

    let me know if any use - I'm thinking around 20 notes + post?
    Cheers
    And
    #2
  3. davebirl
    Offline

    davebirl 2002 S3 MTM Stg III 345bhp

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds like a plan, Could you email me a pic of what you got please? And part number? I reckon I might be able to swap over one of the LCD screens to my own. I will PM you my email. Thanks
    #3
  4. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    You may find if you strip it down and wiggle the LCD it will work. I stripped mine completely to clean all the buttons and I removed the LCD covers to clean them too.
    #4

Share This Page