1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chorus » RNS-E sat nav Retrofit

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by johnmv55, Nov 28, 2006.

  1. johnmv55
    Offline

    johnmv55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2006]
    All this Sat Nav talk at "Symphony II » RNS-E sat nav Retrofit" has got me quite interested, has any body carried it out with a Chorus radio? Looks to me as if I would need a new carrier for the hazards and also a new ECC unit?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 29, 2006]
    #2
  4. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 29, 2006]
    People have done it John, but it is a little bit more involved for Chorus owners. As well as the RNS-E unit, you will to strip out the entire centre of the dash and fit a double-DIN cage, plus either cut your existing climate control panel to fit it lower in the dash (using a dremel) or buy a new climate unit (expensive). You may also need some new buttons for ESP and the passenger airbag warning light.Agree with Steve though - the http://www.navplus.us is fantastic and full of information on the RNS-E. I used it extensively before my install.
    #3
  5. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 29, 2006]
    #4
  6. johnmv55
    Offline

    johnmv55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 29, 2006]
    Thanks Steve, shame he only does COD and has no paypal, I have contacted him anyway so I will see what happens, is all of that backing piece what is called the double din?
    #5
  7. johnmv55
    Offline

    johnmv55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 29, 2006]
    Thanks Ben, I have had a look there but didn't find any info regarding changing to a double din, I'll have another look later
    #6
  8. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 29, 2006]
    Yep - if the climate panel was missing in those pictures, you'll have a big piece of plastic that bolts into the dash. This is what will hold the RNS-E in place.

    For me, as a Symphony II owner, the double-DIN cage, correct climate control and buttons are already in place, so only needed a harness and the stereo just swaps out.
    #7

Share This Page