1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

chipping a 1.9 tdi

Discussion in 'Diesel forum' started by delkhela, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. delkhela
    Offline

    delkhela New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    is a simple process ,does it make a big difference,does it make the car less economical,is it detremental in anyway,how much does it cost ,finally is there anybody near the west mids who will chip my car for me ??????????
    #1
  2. pd130a4
    Offline

    pd130a4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    you will 'remap' and not 'rechip'

    yes it's fairly simple

    yes it makes a big difference

    no, my car still hits 40mpg with ease

    no it's perfectly safe and comes with a warranty

    costs vary

    no, you'll have to go to either jabbasport or AMD or revotek

    I can only vouch for jabba as thats who did mine, and they did a cracking job - as you can see from my signature
    #2
  3. delkhela
    Offline

    delkhela New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry but what is meant by remap
    #3
  4. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,970
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    [ QUOTE ]
    delkhela said:
    sorry but what is meant by remap

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hi mate, 'remap' is basically what you refer to as chipping, we have got use the word 'chip' but these day, most cars have their ECU's remapped to gain performance as opposed to having a complete chip swapped over.
    #4
  5. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    most companys can also provide a delivery off this system, they send it too you, plug it in your diagnosic port, press save then send it back. they then re-map the ecu program and send it back again, plug it and an upload it hey presto 40-50bhp and 40lb/ft.

    or if you can do with out your can unclip the ecu send it 2 them and they will send it back done!!
    #5
  6. delkhela
    Offline

    delkhela New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    what sort of costs?
    #6
  7. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    £400 - around £595

    Your probs looking at £475-£500 for great tuning from a decent company
    #7
  8. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,970
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    If you don't want the hassle of remapping the ECU, you could get a plug in tunit box which just plugs into the injector loom and only effects the fueling. This method gives you a reasonable amount of performance increase, but in general, not as good as a full blown remap which changes the turbo pressure aswell as the fuelling. I have run one of these for the past 12 months and 20K miles on my Passat 1.9 Tdi PD with no problems, apart from going into limp mode once, which was cured by switching the engine off and back on. Drawback is lotta exhaust smoke when giving it some.
    #8
  9. DAF
    Offline

    DAF Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me to Jojo ive got an A3 130TDi sport with a tunit box i think its about 170-180 but better torque, and yes it does smoke more as a bird found out in her A4 2.4 cab. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif but i'b waiting for the car to run out of warranty before i ditch the box and get a remap. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif
    #9

Share This Page