1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

chip and spin sat 30th may

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by JTS4, May 31, 2009.

  1. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    good morning gents

    nice to meet a few friendly faces at chipped uk yesterday....big thanks to mark from chip and spin for putting the thing together and spending the day in the midlands with us audiheads..well done mark!

    the results....
    my standard s4 supposedly 265brake came up at a mere 227 on the first run:sadlike:, then after recoding and resetting the throttle body she woke up and tried to eat the dyno with a figure of 328 on the vdu...a huge grin appeared, though i think that was at the flywheel.
    she was then run up again only this time in third gear as the wheels were spinning on the rollers on the modded run! 291bhp and 263.5 lbs/ft achieved, which as explained to me could be higher in cooler air as it was a hot day.

    on the road....
    my grin became wider!. improved throttle response, mid range sharper and 80-110mph is like an on/off switch. my s4 is transformed and mental and i`m suitably chuffed. BIG THANKS to all involved.:rock:

    jon
    #1
  2. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    Nice one, good work !
    #2
  3. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    had to be done mate!
    #3
  4. INDIEJONES
    Offline

    INDIEJONES New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes Mark thanks go out to you pal...

    As for my 1.8 TQS it showed on the first run only 163 brake and I was well disappointed but the guys at Chipped UK explained I was losing pressure through my RDV but I got it remapped anyways as I have got the 710N RDV to go on it this week... so after the remapped second run I got a return of 206bhp with a loss of pressure I was happy enough with the figures but it was on the road it was a whole new car... the first thing I notice was the throttle response... very quick! and then on to when the turbo kicked in... WHOOOPIE!!! I feel like a kid again I wanted race everything last night but those bloody cameras in London are everywhere, well guys I was well happy I missed the first half of my beloved Chelsea team to have this done its now like a whole new car the best £250 I've spent this year... but its now given me the bug all I keep thinking is what can I do next.
    #4
  5. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    Which gear did they run it in initially?

    Even in this weather that figure sounds fairly tame for a Stage 1 S4, although side-mount intercoolers are at a disadvantage on most RR's with insufficient cooling fans.

    Can you post the graph up?
    #5
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Surely if the wheels were spinning you'd want to use a higher gear to reduce torque multiplication...

    I'd get some vagcom on your car and log the throttle position with a full throttle run in third. You might get some interesting results.
    #6
  7. Dan Gliballs
    Offline

    Dan Gliballs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    3
    That torque figure is around 100 lb ft too low.
    #7
  8. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    I was assuming a mis quote, as mine puts out 275lbtf
    #8
  9. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    first run was fourth/fith i think as i was in front of the car with the cans on, the one i was interested in was the power run after re code which was in third gear.
    will look at vagcom soon i guess if torque figs are under...

    cant put the graph up blue thunder, busted scanner! unless a photo from mobile would be clear enough....

    your car is the same year as mine dangly, what are its figures?
    #9
  10. Dan Gliballs
    Offline

    Dan Gliballs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    3
    On a hot September afternoon, 301bhp and 390 lb ft (Surrey rolling road).
    #10
  11. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    just checked those figs again

    263.5 lbs/ft @ 4070rpm
    #11
  12. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    bloody `ell...stage one?
    #12
  13. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dan's figures sound 'normal' for a stage one car. Yours seem quite low.

    So long as you're happy with the result though, RR figures can be taken with a pinch of salt. Would be interested to see some FATS times to see how it compares against other stage one S4's.

    Suspect there is a problem with the car through if that's the true torque figure, ie: dodgy sensor, boost leak or faulty DV's.

    Also sounds odd that your wheels were slipping on the rollers. At the AudiSRS RR day I organised recently the only car to spin the wheels on the rollers was the 700+bhp S4. I think virtually every other car on the day was over 400bhp and nothing else lost traction.
    #13
  14. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    the last 600 brake 911 they had on rr didnt cause a prob so dont see why mine was. perhaps i need to get it looked at...having said that i`m still happy as the initial run only showed 227bhp, yet felt quicker
    #14
  15. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    If they've made an arse of the map it will be cutting the throttle, which is why i said to check the vagcom logs.

    There was a big thread over on RS246 (iirc) where some guy had his car mapped at chippeduk/chip'n'spin (cant mind which, maybe they're the same people as you mention both names in your original post) and was getting bad throttle cut. He'd posted the vagcom logs for people to see what they thaught and the tuner went a bit mental and refused to do any more work on the car.

    It could well be a boost leak, but the turbos are still in one piece, and trying to run stage 1 boost pressures with a boost leak big enough that the engines only developing 260hp means the turbo would be running waaay past its maximum safe RPM. If it IS a boost leak then be warned the turbos wont last very long like that.

    They're a bunch of cowboys in my opinion. Everything ive heard about them says the same thing, and a perfect example is doing a before and after run in different gears. The before run will have higher losses due to the higher speed, and even though the rollers software is supposed to cancel it out, you'll still get a higher reading in a lower gear. If it was for "slip" reasons, you'd want to use a higher gear, to reduce the torque applied to the wheels, not a lower one, which will apply more torque, and make the slip worse.
    #15
  16. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unfortunately I found this to be true..

    The favorite is to blame the DV valve spring, EBV or MAF for low figures.

    I had a bad fuel/throttle cut and numerous different faults and after three visits and £££s later I came away with no fault codes, about 1PSI more boost than when I originally visited them and a nasty flat spot between 2-3K.

    I would usually insist that these issues were corrected but I don't want to go back to them again to be honest.

    I will be visiting Custom Code soon!!
    #16
  17. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    since the re-code i have noticed a flat spot @ 3500rpm (spark plugs?)....on my way home from work this morning at 6am in cool air and a cold engine (8miles of empty dual track) it felt like it should, no flat spot and very quick...until the engine was hot,. return of the flat spot..could this be throttle cut or loss of boost as suggested?

    prob wouldn`t hurt to change the plugs anyway as they have been in the car for the 6months i`ve had it
    #17
  18. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you're replacing the plugs you should use a slightly smaller gap to account for the increase in boost.. could well be the cause of your flat spot at that amount of revs due to the peak boost level I'd say.
    #18
  19. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    As for plugs keep them simple.

    No fancy quad electrode things, or iridium plugs that are 20quid each

    A nice simple BKR6E or perhaps BKR7E to cope with the extra heat should do just fine.
    #19
  20. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    will see if that makes a difference...then i guess a purchase of vagcom from ebay to look at low torque figs
    #20
  21. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    You'd be better of getting a vagcom cable before replacing spark plugs. At least the you can post logs and we can probab;y help diagnose where the problem lies.
    #21
  22. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    what vagcom do i need, i have vista, is this compatible?
    #22
  23. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Just get a cheap ebay lead and use the shareware software to get you started.

    You might need a licence to do logging runs, but they can be had for $100 from rosstech and work with the cheap leads just fine.

    Doing it that way works out quite a bit cheaper than buying the full kit from rosstech at £300 or whatever it is.
    #23
  24. JTS4
    Offline

    JTS4 Yus!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok bud i`ll get on with it and get one ordered. will keep you posted

    cheers:s4addict:
    #24
  25. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9

Share This Page