Cheap power mods for 2.4 v6 sport convertible

3283old

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a newbie so excuse the lack of knowledge please.
Does anyone know of any fairly cheap ways of upping the response/acceleration of the 2.4 v6 model?
Its just too heavy and sluggish!
Also any way to make the car sound a bit more grunty/powerfull?
Thanks

Yeah, sell it and buy the more tuneable 1.8T version. LOL
Nah only joking mate, I was gonna originally buy a 2.4 or 3.0 convertible but there wasn't much available for them as power upgrades. There is enough people on here with v6 models so i am sure someone will know more.

As other said, you're peeing in the wind trying to tune a NA engine. There is a PES supercharger available for the v6 engines but its very expensve. Sell yours and buy one with a turbo- either petrol or diesel- much easier to tune.

If you want a tuneable engine then a 1.8T is your best option.
The V6's are heavy blocks so the trade off would be for maximum displacement, ie 3.0. To get the most power.
Chipping will give a NA engine ~6-7bhp, a performance exhaust ~4-5bhp, performance filter panel 1~2bhp - that's alot of £££ for little power gains.
If you are serious change the engine!

the cheapest an most efficient way is to sell it and buy a 1.8T or similar... the 2.4 is the heaviest petrol engine (pretty sure it's heavier than the 3.0 alloy block).

if you want to get it a tiny bit more responsive with a tiny bit more power, then induction or cold air induction kit (£75-£150? + fitting), sports exhaust (£300-£1000 depending on wether you do the cat / manifold too) and then afterwards a remap (£200-£600 depending where you go and if you get a rolling road before and after benchmark).

after all that you might have the same power as a remapped 1.8T, but less torque and it'll still be a much heavier car.