1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cheap ipod to standard headunit

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jay1601, May 30, 2012.

  1. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    thought i would give this ago
    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

    as its cheap. (your also need a RCA to 3.5mm lead) i had one laying around so didn't cost anything.

    if you replace it for your blue connector the HU doesn't see the CD changer anymore

    to get around this problem swap the pin from the RCA for the standard pin. (can be a pain to get the old pins out)

    works perfect this was, its a straight swap colour for colour (white, black, red)

    HU reads CD 1 TR1

    hope this helps anyone thats wanting a cheap way of connecting there MP3 player/IPOD to the standard HU

    i will upload some photos.
    #1
  2. Customboy
    Offline

    Customboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    41
    I just use the belkin tape adapter mate only £4 works great of me lol
    #2
  3. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    i was using a tape to MP3 thing. but i got hissing even with the dolby turned on. used to be annoying as hell
    #3
  4. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    You got pics mate? Would love todo this but im useless when t comes to ice lol.
    #4
  5. Customboy
    Offline

    Customboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    41
    I only ever got hissing when the volume on headunit was high and iPod low mate but I see what ur saying
    #5
  6. Daniel M
    Offline

    Daniel M Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if this will work on a tdi sport headunit without a disc changer?
    #6
  7. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    39
    Cool just bought one will give it a try :) have not got a cd changer so would it be even easier ?
    #7
  8. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    Come on jay get them pics up :).
    #8
  9. S3_OL
    Offline

    S3_OL Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm half way through, I do not like removing the pins aha.
    #9
  10. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    i can't get my HU out till next week as my tools are at work.

    some photos hope it helps a little bit more untill i get some wire photos.

    the lead does down through the centre console and comes out behind the ash tray to give access to the ipod. as you can see it reads CD1 TR1 (apart from the few lost pixels)
    [​IMG]

    heres a photo of the old block i didn't take a photo before so i painted in the bit i took out, not the best but you get the idea. all you do is take the 3 wires out of this one (after market) and replace with the correct colour in the standard blue block, you will have white, black and red wires. all you do is replace with the after market replacement

    [​IMG]


    to the left in the photo you can see the "tool" i made to get the pins out. if you look at the block straight on (wires at the back) your see it looks like a + you need to make a tool or use the correct tool and push it in the top and bottom of the + as this flatterns down the clips holding the pins in place. just go careful not to damage the block

    i used one of this to link the RCA to a 3.5mm jack
    [​IMG]

    hope this helps for now. i will get some better photos asap
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
    #10
  11. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    So when fitting the 3 wires into the block, donyou remove the exsisting wires and put the new ones in or do you fit them all in together? Does that make sense? Lol.
    #11
  12. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    [​IMG]

    my paint skills.

    does that make a bit more sence
    #12
  13. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    Haha love that pic mate. Yeah perfect sense mate. Going to put a order in for these bits. This should be made into a stickie.
    #13
  14. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    39
    Cheers j looks easy enough just waiting for the bits to come through the post :)
    #14
  15. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just a quick question will I require 2 sets of stereo pins for a double din to take it out ?
    #15
  16. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    Parts ordered, hopefully best £4.27 ill have ever spent haha.
    #16
  17. Lemon S3
    Offline

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    9
    Im guessing this renders the cd changer useless?
    #17
  18. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    no just cd one i believe, this right jay?
    #18
  19. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    If its the same as Xcarlink. It recognises the iPod as cd1. But then flick the stereo off then back on and it'll divert back to the changer.
    #19
  20. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    So tried this friday, epic fail lol.

    Parts turned up friday, they sent me the blaupunkt cable with a 3.5mm jack instead (would that be ok to use instead of a rca end connection?) anyway i tried to remove the 3 wires from the the blue block, epic fail, removedthe red and black wire but the white one was a *****, i ended up trashing the gaitor mouth part and ripped the wire out of the connector as well, so it went in the bin.

    Anyone got a way of removing the cables? I dont fancy trashing the connection on the car stereo as that will cause some right ****.
    #20
  21. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    the way i got mine out was with the "tool" i made.
    i bought this from ebay
    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace
    not sure if it would work as i'm still waiting for it to turn up lol

    to answer the above question. the CD changer is no longer in use, (you will need a CD in for this to work)

    i am working on a switchable way of changing from MP3 to CD changer. i will post more photos up when i find a cheap way of doing it

    heres some better photos on the wires.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #21
  22. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    So the cd changer wont work full stop then? Not just cd1?
    #22
  23. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,275
    Likes Received:
    90
    Bump, so will the cd changer not work at all jay? Also anyone else tried this yet?
    #23
  24. Jonesymk2
    Offline

    Jonesymk2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if you left the old wires in place and just cut the new wires into it so then the cd changer and iPod adapter would both work still
    #24
  25. Lemon S3
    Offline

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes it does mean the cd changer won't work. You could fit a switch to change between the two. My mate got a iPod connector kit (similar to this: CTAADIPOD003.2 Ipod Adapter for Audi A2/A3/A4/A6/A8/TT) for his TT and even that renders the cd changer useless. Think the only kit that still lets you use the cd changer is xcarlink. They're about £84 though.
    #25
  26. Lemon S3
    Offline

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    9
    It would have a hissy fit as would be trying to play the cds as well as the iPod.
    #26
  27. Jonesymk2
    Offline

    Jonesymk2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would it not work if you left the cd changer cartridge out and then plugged the iPod in or if you wanted to listen to CDs then just put the cartridge in and leave the iPod unplugged
    #27
  28. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    no by taking the 3 pins out , the data from the CD changer doesn't get to the HU anymore.

    i'm working on cheap way of being able to switch between ipod and CD changer
    #28
  29. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    that could work it you just splice the ipod lead in to the standard wiring.
    #29
  30. vanilla_ice
    Offline

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does anyone know if the Symphony II has a similar input that can be utilised in the same way?
    #30
  31. amicallef1991
    Offline

    amicallef1991 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know of there is a similar thing for the Audi Concert 2 in my a3 8l?

    Thanks AJM
    #31
  32. VAG-Slag
    Offline

    VAG-Slag Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    71
    In theory you should be able to get this mod to work on all head units... I've just done it on the Audi Chorus HU in my face lift 8l

    All I did was followed the wring diagram which is stuck on the head-unit it's self... I swapped the red and black cables from the new cable for "CD-L" and "CD-R" according to the wiring diagram (which actually turned out to be brown and white from the HU) and I swapped the black cable for "CD-GND" which was a yellow and red cable.

    And voila, works a treat! . . Although as everyone else says, a right pain to get the pins out. I have the bleeding knuckles to prove it!
    #32
  33. Eddie S3
    Offline

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does anyone know how to get this to work with Symphony II?
    Heres a wiring diagram I've found but it doesn't tally up with the post above

    symphonyII_pincopy.jpg
    #33
  34. mr_go_man
    Offline

    mr_go_man New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Bump for the above post... Is there any way to get this to work with the Symphony II, with the in-dash 6 cd changer?
    #34
  35. dannyh
    Offline

    dannyh Nogaro S3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    11
    Would be interesting to know
    #35

Share This Page