1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing the stock HU

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by DunnerDan, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. DunnerDan

    DunnerDan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My '99 A3 has got the stock Audi cassette HU in which naturally I want to change for a cd player. It looks wider that a stabdard HU and I'm not sure if it does anything else so what's the advice on changing it over? Do I need to get a mounting kit?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S4

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,085
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Yup, you do! Autoleads make them, & they sell for between £10 & £15, depending who you buy from. I couldn't wait to get rid of the OEM Concert unit & put a proper after-market HU instead. There are loads to choose from. I went for a new Alpine system, with a complementary red display. Whatever you choose, you won't regret it.
     
  4. DunnerDan

    DunnerDan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, the replacement isn't a prob as I've got a Kenwood out of my old Honda that was written off /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    Best get me one of them mounting kits then. Do I need anything special to get the audi thing out?
     
  5. Mcgough

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea audi adapters are the best and for units go for the JVC black range they blend in really well, and sound quality is too die for if you have the cash!
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes, I've had a few sets for a 99 A3TS & 2000 S3 no problem. I think the only ones that aren't available are the double DIN Symphony ones.
     
  7. DunnerDan

    DunnerDan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, just been into my local dealer in Bath and they claim that facia adaptors aren't available for the A3!!

    Can anyone help with a source as I'de rather get the better fitting/looking audi one and not the autoleads one?
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    they're talking shyte I've bought a number of them, they ask what year/model and they have to order them, takes a couple of days, they're about £12.
    Ring Southampton Audi 02380-460700, and get the part number and then go back to Bath and make them look stupid.
    Amateurs....
     
  9. DunnerDan

    DunnerDan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought as much!!! I was hoping someone could suggest the part number and I could make them look stupid so I'll give Southampton a call in the morning /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    As usual top advice Andy! I've downloaded the various instructions you've posted up as they look ideal for the various stages of my system upgrade.

    Get the head unit done first, then probably replace the sub with your suggestion (btw, where do you get the sub enclosure?) then after that the front components.
     
  10. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    The sub enclosures are custom made in my own factory/workshop/garage
     
  11. DunnerDan

    DunnerDan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, in that case I'll definately be in touch when the time comes ;-)
     

Share This Page