1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing teams

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MartayMcFly, May 3, 2011.

  1. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    Just packed my old 8L off to Hadwins Approved down in Cumbria, and they kindly delivered me a shiny 8P (black with black grill) in return.

    Been looking for AGES, and finally found a low mileage car, great condition, good kit, right price etc. I'm over the moon with the difference between tired little 8L S3 and new, tight, rumbly 8P S3.

    Now on to the fun stuff:

    N8 - I'll be picking your brains about wheels soon enough, but not doing anything drastic... probably just some nice 19s, Speedlines maybe, or BBS CKs

    NHN - the car has NAV, GSM in the arm rest, bluetooth... all the standard stuff too. What'll it take/cost to get the RNS-E mk2 with VIM TV, and maybe an Ipod connection somewhere?

    Also, I'll be getting a remap and was just after a bit of feedback. Has anyone tried more than one company? Or can anyone say that one is truly better than another? I was thinking REVO as the obvious option, but the garage a lot of my mates use for mods is a CustomCode code agent. Not many of them have had the remap, and none have an S3, so can't really use their testimonials as anything to base my decision on. I'm not going to be going big turbo, or anything extreme/expensive, just after a standard generic remap.

    Thanks
    Martin
    #1
    Kelza likes this.
  2. Shane.
    Offline

    Shane. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    2
    19" speedlines are usually a good bet with a set of coilies. Sounds very nice car, need pics. As for remap I am running celtic tuning software software and can't fault it very smooth with great results.
    #2
  3. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    good choice on car!

    if your looking for a map, although ive not tried others, im using an Evolve map, a few people on here are now using it and they havnt had a bad word to say. ive written a review on my experience which you will find here:

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/new-a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/105548-remap-evolve-luton.html

    if you want anyone else to ask how good it is, you can also talk to either Matt2010 or Denty

    if youve got any questions, just let me know

    Paolo
    #3
  4. Paul_S3
    Offline

    Paul_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    21
    We want to see pics. Speedlines are always perfect. Please see the results after installing them last weekend. Is it a 3door or sportback?
    I would like to see you black grill because I am planning to install one.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #4
    Kelza and MartayMcFly like this.
  5. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    It's pre-facelift so the grill will look slightly different, and it's a 3-door. I'll get pics once it's washed and shiny... it's all bugged up and a bit dusty right now from it's trip up from Cumbria. Saw a set of Speedlines with black centres on ebay that look amazing, not sure if they were genuine or not though (I want to keep everything OEM, where possible).
    #5
  6. Mutsumi
    Offline

    Mutsumi Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've made almost exactly the same move as myself! I had a very similar S3 to your old one, same year, engine & colour... I've also changed to a 2007 S3 in Silver (Aah, the difference).

    Slaps a silly grin on your face each time you see it, I bet. Mine does.
    #6
  7. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    Well I don't have two-tone anymore, a lazy motor way button or swivelly lights, but my TV and beepy reverse are in the pipeline.

    I'm still a little unsure if it's actually mine, or if someone's somehow played a huge prank on me. It's light years ahead of the old motor, sooo pleased.
    #7
  8. Mutsumi
    Offline

    Mutsumi Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know what you mean. The first few days I thought someone else had parked in my carpark!
    #8
  9. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    Pics are up in the "Post picture of your 8P A3/S3" sticky... put them up last week.
    #9
  10. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    Was at a local rr day, care of Wallace Per4mance in Altens. Car did MUCH better than expected, 317bhp at the flywheel, 254bhp at the wheels and 295lbft torque. No map on the car, just the exhaust, intake and apparently S3s are notoriously overpowered! No need to worry about Stage 1 anymore, but can't wait to find out what Stage 2+ might bring... is 380 too much to ask for?
    #10
  11. S.
    Online

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    215
    are you sure there is no map on the ecu? if so then you're very lucky man!
    #11
  12. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    Not 100% sure. I haven't mapped it, and Audi said it wasn't mapped when I bought it (an odd lie to tell). Maybe original owner had it mapped and didn't mention when they traded it in?
    #12
  13. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did you get your VIM TV sorted?
    #13
  14. s3ollie
    Offline

    s3ollie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    7
    You cant get VIM yet on the MK2 RNS afaik
    #14
  15. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    My VIM? Haven't really done anything about it, but mt RNS-E is Mk1 so I could I suppose, it's expensive though.
    #15

Share This Page