1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing instrument cluster lighting a3 8l

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Karlos90, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. Karlos90
    Offline

    Karlos90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2011]
    I'm fairly new to this vag com stuff , just wondering how you do it ? I've managed change door locks at speed but this ones got me any help would be appreciated , I've had good look around and nothing helps

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    Expand on your request.
    #2
  4. Karlos90
    Offline

    Karlos90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    Sorry so that the back lights aren't on all the time only when u turn on the sidelights
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    What version are you using?
    #4
  6. Karlos90
    Offline

    Karlos90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    On the lead it says dual-k & can <-> RS-232
    With latest update available

    Is tht Wat u need to know ?
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    Which update version is this please, software version that is?
    #6
  8. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    I've done this on my 8L S3 but I cant remeber what I did. I'll have a look tonight when I get home. I think if you go into the code screen for "lighting" there should be a list of options if you hover the mouse cursor over the code. It'll be something like +1 for all lit, +2 for dials etc.
    #7
  9. Karlos90
    Offline

    Karlos90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2011]
    I will double check at work tomorrow , thanks got the suggestion will give it a try
    #8
  10. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 8, 2011]
    #9
  11. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    i tried this but for some reason i only have 2 numbers instead of 5?
    #10
  12. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    You might have an older cluster mate. The above guide was written for the Audi TT so there may be some differences between the clusters.
    #11
  13. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    its a 2001 mate, so does this mean i cant make the dash light up with ignition?
    #12
  14. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    All the above does is make the needles light up without the dials when the ignition is turned on. By default I think nothing lights up until you put the side lights on then dials and neddles light.

    I'll have a quick check tonight and follow the guide above. It may be that the A3 cluster has slightly different procedure to the TT one.
    #13
  15. Karlos90
    Offline

    Karlos90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    The version I have is 20101206 with update 10.6.3
    #14
  16. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    Cheers westle :)
    #15
  17. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    Scott I followed the guide above to the letter and it was identicle! I had a 5 digit number.

    With your 2 digit number if you hover your mouse cursor over the number it should give you a list of the features that module can do. Take note of the number you have and try putting in the following code if it lets you and see what happens. 10010
    #16
  18. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    tried it again and it still shows 10 but when i hover cursor over it nothing happens could it be cause i have one of those ebay leads?. when i try and change the number it just reverts back to 10..
    #17
  19. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    Yeah you probably cant edit that field without a fully licensed version of VCDS mate.
    #18
  20. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    its vag com i have that fully activated but it still wont let me do anything and why is it only 2 numbers for me
    #19
  21. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    You can use VCDS with an ebay cable but it wont be a fully licensed working copy unless you have unlocked it with a genuine ross-tech cable. The license for the software is stored on the cable. Very clever stuff. So they give the software away for free but charge £250+ for one of their cables.
    #20
  22. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    on the about page it says fully registered/activated is this not the case?
    #21
  23. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    And with a f ull license key?

    I was under the impression that you couldn't register VCDS unless you have a genuine cable!
    #22
  24. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    i downloaded the shareware vertion from ross-tech and it wont even scan channel19...might have to invest in the real deal:yes:
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011
    #23
  25. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    The real deal is a very handy tool indeed. If you PM "NHN" he sells them for around £250.

    I have saved so much money by doing my own diagnostics instead of paying Audi £60 every time.
    #24
  26. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    i have saved a fortune to on my old mk3 golf, just never got round to buying a 'real' version
    #25
  27. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    You wont regret it mate.
    #26
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 11, 2011]
    Yeap that'll be me, PM me if interested, thanks westle :)
    #27
  29. scott13
    Offline

    scott13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 12, 2011]
    Westle, can you go into channel 19 & see if it gives you a description of the channel & also what comes it shows, can you post a pic like scott has please westle.

    Scott, if you saved so much on your golf then use some of that dough for genuine mate :p
    #29
  31. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 14, 2011]
    Yeah no problem. I'll get the pic up tonight or tomorrow morning.
    #30
  32. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 14, 2011]
    Here you go lads:

    [​IMG]
    #31
  33. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 14, 2011]
    Kinda answers the whole issue really, what do you notice that I do for illumination?
    #32
  34. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 15, 2011]
    Haha yeah I did spot that last night when I took the screen shot. 2002 onwards.

    Just out of interest do you know what the difference is between DIS 1 and 2 and also what is "Remote Clock"?
    #33
  35. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 15, 2011]
    DIS 1 & 2 are your trip counters mate, 1 is per trip, other is a rolling counter for mileage, mpg etc etc & remote clock is a little module that picks up the radio transmitted clock time so it remains correct all the time, dont think its broadcasted in the UK tbh, something been meaning to check for ages tbh for my 8P.
    #34
  36. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 15, 2011]
    I might enable that tonight and see if it works. No more adjusting the clock for daylight savings if it works.

    I think that is does broadcast mat but you have to change your radio over to one of the BBC radio stations for it to work, that's how it worked on my old corsa. I never listen to radio 1 but when my clock needed changing I'd flick channels for about 30 seconds and it would change the time for me.
    #35
  37. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Feb 15, 2011]
    You need the module fitted, unless you have that then pointless enabling mate & it wasnt fitted to any UK afaik mate.
    #36
  38. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    971
    [Feb 15, 2011]
    That's a damn shame. There's not enough things to program on these bloody old cars :(
    #37

Share This Page