1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing ECU between cars?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nick101, May 23, 2013.

  1. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [May 23, 2013]
    (sorry about the long sentencing, wont let me hit return to paragraph) Hi folks, looking at a car that's got stage 2 mods, but not mapped to stage 2, I might be in a position to buy my old ECU back from my last car that had custom code stage 2 mapping on it. My old car was a 97 A3 1.8T sport, AGU engine, no aircon, with sunroof. New one is also AGU but a 99 on a T, has aircon, no sunroof with heated seats, and has stage 2 mods but is currently stage 1 mapped. I am wondering if I was to swap ECU's, would it be compatible with the new car? Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    46
    [May 23, 2013]
    whos stage 1 map? i beleive revo maps costs £50 or so to upgrade from a stage 1 to 2, cheeper than buying and re doing an other ecu?
    mark
    #2
  4. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [May 23, 2013]
    Will have to check, not sure how much the ECU is going to cost yet, but its worth bearing in mind the upgrade if it is Revo. Anyone know if I could switch the ECU's if I wanted to?
    #3
  5. BENJAMIN
    Offline

    BENJAMIN Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 23, 2013]
    If they are both agu engines, yes you can swap ecu's. Coding the immobiliser on an agu is a 2 second job too.
    Revo never did a stage 2 map for dbc engines.
    #4
  6. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [May 24, 2013]
    Oh yea, didnt think about the immob.

    How hard of a job would it be to recode the immob to the new ECU? Could it be done via vag com?
    #5
  7. BENJAMIN
    Offline

    BENJAMIN Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    82
    [May 24, 2013]
    #6
  8. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [May 24, 2013]
    Cheers mate! Maybe going to see the car tomorrow so will see what's what. Hopefully that info will come in handy. Thanks again!
    #7

Share This Page