1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

changing DIS language from German to English

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by SiCotty, Sep 7, 2003.

  1. SiCotty
    Offline

    SiCotty New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2003]
    Do you have to go down to the dealer or can you do this yourself. Also is the security locking systems an option or can you change the way it works yourself. I want the drivers to to open with one push and the rest on another.

    Thanks

    Simon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. NikoS3
    Offline

    NikoS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2003]
    Hi Simon,

    you will either have to visit your local Dealer and use Vag 1551 or a friend that has the Vag-Com in order to reprogram your ECU. It is fairly easy process and does not take long.

    Nikos.
    #2
  4. SiCotty
    Offline

    SiCotty New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2003]
    found it on Audiworld, apparently it needs to be set by a dealer (how ****). Also does anybody know why my hazard warning switch glows all the time?

    Thanks

    Si
    #3
  5. SiCotty
    Offline

    SiCotty New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2003]
    post, thanks Nikos

    Si
    #4
  6. audi_girl
    Offline

    audi_girl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 7, 2003]
    Hi Simon! Nice to see you posting on here - thx for the spin in the new A3 last week, come on and post some photo's /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    The locking mechanism is fairly easily changed using VAG-COM (e.g. I have mine set to auto-lock at 10mph, and beep when locked etc.) at least on the older ones - assume it's the same on the new ones?

    Are you sure about the language being set by the dealer, it might be possible with VAG-COM (s/w on the laptop), or a 1551 (dealer's have them, but AmD have got one and they are fairly local to you)? i.e. if it's only a dealer that can do it, chances are it will be possible with a 1551....



    #5
  7. audi_girl
    Offline

    audi_girl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 7, 2003]
    PS I think my hazard warning light glows all the time too - probably a safety thing
    #6
  8. Administrators
    Offline

    Administrators Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Sep 13, 2003]
    [ QUOTE ]
    audi girl said:
    PS I think my hazard warning light glows all the time too - probably a safety thing

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah it's a safety thing!
    #7

Share This Page