1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing AC compressor pulley

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by pauldazzle, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 22, 2012]
    Can anyone give me a run down on replacing the AC pulley. Mine has been clattering more & more so I've ordered a new pulley today.
    I'll get my trusted mechanics to do the job, but would like to give them a heads up on any likely problems.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 23, 2014]

  3. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Nov 22, 2012]
    havent the foggiest but what was the cost of the pulley?
    #2
  4. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 22, 2012]
    Pulley cost £80 inc p&p from Autoklima24 on German eBay, which is £60 cheaper than TPS quoted me.
    #3
  5. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Nov 22, 2012]
    bloody hell

    I might just turn the radio up instead!!
    #4
  6. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    If the pulley fails completely turning the radio up isn't going to help the situation.:banghead:
    #5
  7. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
  8. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    Me too.:think:
    #7
  9. marktdisport
    Offline

    marktdisport Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    Search leaky Lloyd made a write up I'm sure on a thread about this...
    #8
  10. marktdisport
    Offline

    marktdisport Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    #9
  11. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    Thanks Mark, I had actually contributed to that thread, but it doesn't really go into any detail on replacement. Will stick it in to get the job done next week, & write a guide as it seems quite common. I've run for nearly 14000 miles with it rattling, it only used to rattle when climate was on econ but its now doing it when the AC is on too so it's time to sort it before it fails.
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012
    #10
  12. marktdisport
    Offline

    marktdisport Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    I don't think there that bad when you tackle it Paul....
    #11
  13. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 23, 2012]
    I'm hoping that with the car up on a 2 post ramp we'll be able to get the compressor off without having to take the front bumper off.
    #12
  14. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Nov 24, 2012]
    Just had my compressor replaced due to actual compressor failure, pretty sure it's a bumper service position job.
    #13
  15. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 24, 2012]
    Yes I'm sure that's the case with the V6 engines, but not sure the same goes for the 1.9 PD engines.
    #14
  16. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Nov 24, 2012]
    I think you could remove the compressor from the mount and do it you can only try first
    #15
  17. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Nov 25, 2012]
    If it's the same as the Audi A6. Easy job bud. My tensioner was broken, so I couldn't adjust it.

    Under try off, you can then get to the compressor. I had to undo the bolts and just release it from the belt that way. You can put it back on this way too. Worked fine. It will then lower down just enough to work on it, use an axle stand to support it. If it's the same, it's a 10mm bolt in the middle. Then you need to pry off the metal cup over the inner pulley. Once that's off, you need circlip pliers to remove the circlip holding the inner pulley. Once that's off, pull off the pulley. Push on the new one, circlip on, outer pulley may need some lube to go back over the rubber. Put some good loctite on the 10mm screw (mine actually came out and the pulley disapeered completely!).
    Put the compressor back on, refit undertray. Took me about half an hour.
    #16
  18. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Nov 25, 2012]
    Thanks BlackQuat.:thumbsup:
    #17

Share This Page