1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

changed cluster on audi now will not start

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by shilaroscy, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. shilaroscy
    Offline

    shilaroscy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys i changed the cluster on my audi a3 2002 8l model and it starts when you hook it up to the car then after a day the immobilizer kicks in and when you turn the switch the milage lights and other screens go blank and it doesn't allow the car to start i have formated the clocks and reprogrammed them and the same issue appears to be happening...... NOTE; there is no car on the clocks with key when i try to start it so i'm guessing it's not a key issue please help !!!!

    thanks
    #1
  2. JimS3
    Offline

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    63
    Faulty cluster? Why did you change it?
    #2
  3. shilaroscy
    Offline

    shilaroscy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ll the diing wrong and bouncing up and down got the new one from a breakers it works fine when started the new one !!!
    #3
  4. s3joe
    Offline

    s3joe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    32
    Has it been coded into the car
    #4
  5. shilaroscy
    Offline

    shilaroscy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it has been coded that is why it starts to begin with but when you leave it for a while it doesn't start and the milage and time bit of the cluster switches off and it doesn't start !
    #5
  6. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Does it start then cut out? Did the immolight work during coding? Formatted? Is it a vdo clock or something else and did you happen to use vag tacho or clone of commander?

    Where abouts are you and what does vcds say?
    #6
  7. shilaroscy
    Offline

    shilaroscy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not sure to be honest buddy ..... the guy doing it for me put the new cluster on and the temperature gauge was stuck on 90 degrees so he took the gauge off the old one and replaced it into the new unit and re- installed it and he says when he hooks it up it starts and runs fine then after a while of it being switched off say 12 hours when he goes to turn the engine again the clocks losses all the writing on the screen and it doesn't start..... but when you take the back fuses off and put them in again it starts fine again apparently... he is from what i know using a vag tacho but i'm not so technical myself when it comes to electrics so not sure if it is a vdo clock.... or what vcds is but i can ask him ....

    he is now telling me that the new clocks have some kind of problem and it is nothing that he has done wrong and it is the chance you take with a second hand unit but any help you can give me i would be most indebted to you although i don't live in the uk any longer i feel a bit like i'm being taken for a ride if you know what i mean !!! thanks for your help in advance !
    #7
  8. Squirt
    Offline

    Squirt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd say the clusters knackered. The cluster is the CAN gateway so when this fails she's got no hope of running...
    #8
  9. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    What was the fault with original clocks? Try finding sa vdo replacement the jeager u have a notorious for failing. Trying to copy eeproms over, which is what it sounds like he did, will not work. Especially not with vag tacho! Vag tacho is good to read the pin/skc and vcds to program them in.
    #9
  10. shilaroscy
    Offline

    shilaroscy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    the original clocks were not working all the dials were wrong and jumping up and down speedo rev counter petrol gauge and thermostate !!
    #10

Share This Page