1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CH/LH LiGHTS

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Yaseen1991, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. Yaseen1991
    Offline

    Yaseen1991 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Hello again, i no this has been coverd before but i cant find the correct post :(

    Neway just had the rear facelifts adpated to work as they should (Thanks NAD, what a top guy!) he also enabled the ch/lh function but there not working :S

    He did mention i need to earth a wire or something, but cant find the post, i did see that it might have something tp do with a switch :S

    Just wondering if ne1 can shed any light on the situation and what i need to earth

    Thanks
    #1
  2. josiah2007
    Offline

    josiah2007 Coasting

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Hi Yaseen, I also enabled this feature to my car about 6 months ago. It was pretty easy when I followed this link below:

    cominghomelights - Audi Retrofit

    It has a picture of the earth point which should be useful to you. :thumbsup:
    #2
  3. SWILKO
    Offline

    SWILKO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Josiah2007,

    Is the repair wire an Audi part or is it a case of making one up?

    Cheers,

    S
    #3
  4. josiah2007
    Offline

    josiah2007 Coasting

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Mine was made up - a piece of wire with the ends slightly stripped! Cheap n' easy! :thumbsup:
    #4
  5. Yaseen1991
    Offline

    Yaseen1991 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Cheers josiah2007. Gonna hav a crak at it first thing tomorro morning!

    Thanks
    #5
  6. josiah2007
    Offline

    josiah2007 Coasting

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Let us know how you get on! :icon_thumright:
    #6
  7. SWILKO
    Offline

    SWILKO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Cheap n easy sounds good, cheers J....:yes:
    #7
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    There is also a multi earth point just under the carpet of the wheel arch under the fuse box, makes for tidier wiring.
    #8
  9. Jameze
    Offline

    Jameze James

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Oct 12, 2011]
    Is this all it takes?? That has got to be the easiest mod ever after switching the interior bulbs to LED's!

    Is there any limitations to this? I was keen to do this a while back but decided against it after I heard there was repair wiring involved (in my head it was much more complicated than this!). Basically... will this work in my car? MY10 with Xenons (as per sig).
    #9
  10. grimp
    Offline

    grimp Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 12, 2011]
    AFAIK if you have autolights/rainsensor, its only vagcom needed on the my09+. If u do not the autoswitch ur screwed, unless you retrofit..
    #10
  11. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    54
    [Oct 12, 2011]
    Just go to audi and ask for a repair wire 000 979 009. Only cost about £2 max. Then just strip one end. Follow the instructions in the link already provided. You will find connector E with the other connectors under the drivers side panel to the right. They are all marked with letters. Can be a bit fiddly to get out! There is a red tab which secures the connectors, you need to pull this away, then you can release the connector.
    Once all coded, you may find the ch/lh does not work. Just unplug the and re-plug the connector and all should be good!
    #11
  12. ryanstewart9
    Offline

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 12, 2011]
    So unlike the older models, you must have the auto-lights switch on the MY09+ in order to get CH/LH lights?
    #12

Share This Page