1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Centre Arm rest

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Spin140, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. Spin140

    Spin140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    29
    Anyone know how easy it is to remove the lid.

    I've taken a look but theres no obvious fastenings like bolts etc but am sure it can be removed.

    I'm having mine retrimmed to match the handbrake so it will have 2 seams added complimented with the silver stitching, I'm a sucker for detail :), just need to know how to take it off before I go on saturday.

    Cheers Spin
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    59
    your signature isn't chronological! I was confused.

    Dunno about the arm rest sorry.
     
  4. Spin140

    Spin140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    29
    Not chronological date wise but in correct order of ownership. I traded the 06 A3 in against the 05 A4 when our daughter was born thinking I needed to get all sensible, that lasted 5 months then I bought the S3. Thankfully I can see this being a long term ownership as it makes me smile everyday.
     
  5. tmint

    tmint Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    i guess u mean to remove the lid of the armrest yeah? just squeeze the two black arms inside together. Thats how i did mine, was very awkward but its the only way i could see to do it
     
  6. Boydie

    Boydie Guest

    and it seems he also wants to remove the cushion part of the armrest
     
  7. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    59
    AHA!! lol
     
  8. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't you just remove the whole armrest with the single bolt.

    Then let the trimmers worry about taking it apart if indeed they actually need to.

    For me that would be a better option than risking breaking anything.
     
  9. JamS3

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    15
    Its fairly easy to take the top off, as said above just pinch the two clips together and its off. The plastic is very hard so won't break easy!
     
  10. Spin140

    Spin140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    29
    Cheers Guys, it was very easy and as suggested just squeeze the black arms together. Will post some pics upon completion
     
  11. Sirus

    Sirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another arm rest question.

    The catch on my broke the other day...it now has no 'pressure' and therefore when I put the lid down, it doesnt click shut - the latch is simply loose.

    Is there an easy fix?
     
  12. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    didn't some of the guys on here get those replaced under warranty? i seem to remember a post along those lines not too long ago.
     
  13. Amchlolor

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    Another armrest question,sorry.
    Anyone else's handbrake leather getting worn by it ?
    My handbrake has a disctinctly worn patch,which is the sort of thing the bloody lease company pick up on when they collect the car,followed by a bill !
     
  14. ianspibs

    ianspibs Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    "The catch on my broke the other day...it now has no 'pressure' and therefore when I put the lid down, it doesnt click shut - the latch is simply loose."


    Yes, I did on my last A3.
     

Share This Page