1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Centre Arm rest

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Spin140, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    Anyone know how easy it is to remove the lid.

    I've taken a look but theres no obvious fastenings like bolts etc but am sure it can be removed.

    I'm having mine retrimmed to match the handbrake so it will have 2 seams added complimented with the silver stitching, I'm a sucker for detail :), just need to know how to take it off before I go on saturday.

    Cheers Spin
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    your signature isn't chronological! I was confused.

    Dunno about the arm rest sorry.
    #2
  3. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    Not chronological date wise but in correct order of ownership. I traded the 06 A3 in against the 05 A4 when our daughter was born thinking I needed to get all sensible, that lasted 5 months then I bought the S3. Thankfully I can see this being a long term ownership as it makes me smile everyday.
    #3
  4. tmint
    Offline

    tmint Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    i guess u mean to remove the lid of the armrest yeah? just squeeze the two black arms inside together. Thats how i did mine, was very awkward but its the only way i could see to do it
    #4
  5. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Guest

    and it seems he also wants to remove the cushion part of the armrest
    #5
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    AHA!! lol
    #6
  7. marms
    Offline

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't you just remove the whole armrest with the single bolt.

    Then let the trimmers worry about taking it apart if indeed they actually need to.

    For me that would be a better option than risking breaking anything.
    #7
  8. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    Its fairly easy to take the top off, as said above just pinch the two clips together and its off. The plastic is very hard so won't break easy!
    #8
  9. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    Cheers Guys, it was very easy and as suggested just squeeze the black arms together. Will post some pics upon completion
    #9
  10. Sirus
    Offline

    Sirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another arm rest question.

    The catch on my broke the other day...it now has no 'pressure' and therefore when I put the lid down, it doesnt click shut - the latch is simply loose.

    Is there an easy fix?
    #10
  11. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    didn't some of the guys on here get those replaced under warranty? i seem to remember a post along those lines not too long ago.
    #11
  12. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    Another armrest question,sorry.
    Anyone else's handbrake leather getting worn by it ?
    My handbrake has a disctinctly worn patch,which is the sort of thing the bloody lease company pick up on when they collect the car,followed by a bill !
    #12
  13. ianspibs
    Offline

    ianspibs Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    "The catch on my broke the other day...it now has no 'pressure' and therefore when I put the lid down, it doesnt click shut - the latch is simply loose."


    Yes, I did on my last A3.
    #13

Share This Page