1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Central Locking temporaraly stops working

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by GeoffDunk, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have seen this happen every now and again and was wondering if anyone else has had this problem.

    I lock the car in the eveing after getting home and leave it overnight, in the morning I go to unlock the car and the remote locking doesn't work. I put the key in the drivers door, unlock and this just unlocks the drivers door, all other doors stay locked. I put the key in the ignition and when I start the car all the doors unlock.

    This happens maybe once a week and I have replaced the battery so I know thats good in both keys and it doesn't matter which of the keys I use. I switched to the 2nd key which was brand new and never used, put a new battery in it just incase but every now and again the same thing happens.

    Its no big problem just stranage.

    Anyone else experienced this?
    #1
  2. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    have you scanned the car? most probably a door lock module playing up.
    #2
  3. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    No, not scanned the car, I don't have the equipment for that.
    #3
  4. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    58
    running something like an s4 geoff you really do need to have something thats capable of reading codes
    #4
  5. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    Not necessarily, I'll take it to my mechanic and he'll read them.

    The question I asked was that of "has anyone else experienced this", if it s a no then I will investigate further. For all I knew it may be a common problem.

    I am not going to pay out over £200 for soemthing I'll use once in a blue moon.
    #5
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    489
    could be the wireing in the rubber boot from car to door
    or as above the lock modual
    #6
  7. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    Cheers, could be but its all 4 doors and boot, not just the one door.
    #7
  8. tbs
    Offline

    tbs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    To answer your question has anyone experienced this....... Yes.....My remote will occasionally fail to work. I manually unlock the car and the car alarm goes off. I then start the car and everything resets and its fine for another 4 weeks. mine is not an S4. I have also tried the book manual reset proceedure. That works sometimes. I dont think it serious enough to worry about as all cars ive ever had seem to have a few issues like this.
    #8
  9. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    Cheers TBS, sounds simular but my alarm doesn't sound. I am unaware of the manual reset proceedure?
    #9
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    489
    a snapped wire will kill all doors etc as they all run from the drivers door

    and it can be intermitant
    #10
  11. A4sportMrT
    Offline

    A4sportMrT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    20
    Was this resolved? If so how? As I've just had the exactly same issue
    #11
  12. audi-nutz
    Offline

    audi-nutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    A scan would best, I have just had this issue and thank god it's sorted.mine was a faulty ccm,swapped it and all seem fine.
    Hope this helps.
    #12
  13. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    Not yet resolved, just living with it.

    What is a CCM? Was it expensive and easy to change?
    #13
  14. A4sportMrT
    Offline

    A4sportMrT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    20
    Well it seems to be working now, not sure if it was weather related, as it stopped working when it rained hard but it worked yesterday and this morning no problems
    #14
  15. audi-nutz
    Offline

    audi-nutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ccm= comfort control module.its found under passenger footwell.brand new from Audi your looking at £200+.you can get used ones but need to get the matching part number, it is fairly easy to replace just some trim and carpet to remove and it's in a black box. Do check cables while under and sign of water entering(big problem on a4).

    Good luck
    #15
  16. WOLF
    Offline

    WOLF I am WOLF.......

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    113
    Worth checking this,mine were snapped which kiled the CL.
    #16
  17. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    43
    My money is either on snapped wires as said or a duff CCM.
    #17
  18. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    55
    if it was snapped wires then I'd say it would fail all the time, but it fails to unlock about once every 4 weeks so might be CCM, do they need coding when replaced?
    #18
  19. audi-nutz
    Offline

    audi-nutz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's the exact part number then no otherwise I believe vcds can do this.
    #19
  20. Mothy69
    Offline

    Mothy69 3rd Gear

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    GeoffDunk

    I had similar. My remotes stopped working occasionally & I had to manually unlock drivers door & then turn ignition to unlock other doors. It packed up totally & I got it scanned & there were a load of fault codes, which they cleared & it has been fine since. cost me £50 at vw / audi garage. fingers crossed that's fixed it

    best of luck
    #20
  21. mikeygulley
    Offline

    mikeygulley Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine did this for a while (plus no leccy windows), it was due to the plenum drain being blocked (water got in the pollen filter and under pass side carpet). I unblocked it removed CCM (with battery disconnected first, this is important!), cleaned board with contact spray, then whacked it in the airing cupboard for a night. Bit of WD40 in the morning, reinstated and then reconnected battery. Everything has worked faultlessly ever since. Saved myself a few quid!!!
    #21

Share This Page