1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Central locking pump dead !!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Bradderz_1988, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 6, 2013]
    Well ive just noticed tonite that central locking wasnt working as didnt hear the pump and the door pins didnt move dont no how long its been like that as i have the alarm trigger beep and always presume its locked when you get the beep.

    Funnily enough when the fuel pump died on me it seamed to run on for a good ten seconds but it has been fine ever since so though nothing of it.

    so i got my itorch out and set out at removing the pump as i was pulling the foam of the top and trying to remove the unit the boot light was flickering and going off and on at first i thought it was shorting on the body but then when removing the connectors i came across this ........

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    i dont no how bad it is but it looks like its just suface corrosion or just oxidised will have a better look tomorrow if i get a replacement motor from my local scrappy.

    so at this point i was thinking its that fookin notorious impeller lol and it bloody was

    [​IMG]

    it look like its been dead pump month for me :( i wander whats next ........ Washer pump !!!!!

    And no one be saying oil pump haha !!!!!!!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 6, 2013]
    Forgot to add since disconnecting i cant open the boot via the contacts but it will open of the fob ??? Connections on pcb need cleaning ??
    #2
  4. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,706
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Feb 6, 2013]
    did you clean the contacts on those white sockets to remove all the corrosion?

    The bit that plugs in might be corroded too?
    #3
  5. PAULF
    Offline

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Get some electrical contact cleaner (NOT WD40!!) and give the connector, and both sides of the PCB a good spray then before it all evaporates clean it with a paintbrush and spray again to remove the debris.

    As Kev said, do the sockets too.
    #4
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,164
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Gutted for you mate.
    Never seen in side the Pump before.


    I got nothing to add really apart from agree with the above. :)
    #5
  7. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Didnt clean anything as had nothing to hand will give it a good clean when i get a replacement motor/impeller.

    does the boot contact switches run on this circuit i presume. ??

    had fun this morning fookin door lock was frozen took me 25mins to get in the fooker as id pushed the pins on all the doors and locked it off the drivers barrel lol
    #6
  8. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,164
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    The boot runs off this as well.
    #7
  9. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Where can i get the replacement upgraded motor from as i dont fancy going to a scrappers for it to happen again, does any one have part number for the repair kit or part number for the pumps that have the bigger impeller that i can use with mine ????

    theres some on ebay for £43 posted !!!

    read somewhere that oldskool sells these ???
    #8
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,706
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    the older '96 A4 pumps, and pumps from Audi 80's etc are the "upgraded" type.

    get yourself an old pump and swap the motor bit over.
    #9
  11. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Do you no the part numbers as going to scrappers tonite so can dig one out if i have part number !!!
    #10
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,706
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    #11
  13. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Ahh ok so any earlier type with single vac/pressure outlet ???
    #12
  14. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Hit a stop gap !!!!!!

    thought i was on for a winner but the pressure/vac ports dont line up heres some pics !!!!!

    Left scrappy / right mine !!
    [​IMG]

    Scrappy one !!
    [​IMG]

    my motor !!
    [​IMG]

    The ports are the only thing stopping mine from being repaired is there any way around this ????
    #13
  15. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 7, 2013]
    Ive just spoke to a seller on ebay called 'fawad' who sells the repair pumps and hes said theres no actual way of just swaping out the graphite part you have to cut the pipe off your exsisting pump and pipe it on to the 4A0 pump so that it can connect to the exsisting housing outlet and solder/sleeve the wires.

    going to get it done tomorrow !!

    now ive cleaned out the connections and pcb and my boot still wont open via the micro switches im having to use the key fob any suggestions it was working perfectly fine before the unit was removed any one got pin numbers for the micro switches so i can check continuity and resistance values ????
    #14
  16. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,164
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    Old-School was selling the spare parts for our pumps and still is I think.

    Is the micro switch it self working?
    Could just be coincidence that it stopped when the pump was removed.
    #15
  17. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    The micro switches are clicking there sometimes intermittent (glad theres 2) lol tried bridging the connectors with a staple i found in the boot and nothing happend it opens of the key fob so its something between the switches and CLP !!!!
    #16
  18. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,706
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    just fit the 4a0 pump motor complete, cut the spout off the old pump and join it to the new one with a bit of silicone hose.
    #17
  19. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    ive fitted it and i get the motor just buzzing no central locking working i didnt check the motor with a feed before i fitted it so going to swap my motor over on my dinner and test the motor hopefully its dead if not i may have done something wrong but the impeller only goes in one way would you advise a bit of lunrication or not ???
    #18
  20. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,706
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    is that vacuum pipe sealed? Looks like the T piece is open at one end? Shouldnt there be a hose connected to that?

    You may have a leak somewhere in the system, which is probably what killed the original pump in the first place?
    #19
  21. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    Its blanked of with a ball bearing was like that when i stripped it, theres just no noise from the pump at all just about to pull it in to the workshop so will let you no how i get on hopefully the motors dead !!!
    #20
  22. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    Well motors dead and tried to swap over my motor and the shaft is to small and has sheared the locating lug !! phoned breakers and picking one up tomorrow !!

    hopefully this time it will be ok lol
    #21
  23. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,164
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    Gutted for you mate.

    You going to bolt the new one in or replace the impeller while it's off?

    P.S. can I have your old one?
    #22
  24. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    I dont think theres any thing salvageable mate TBH
    #23
  25. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,164
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Feb 8, 2013]
    Always something for me to play with me. :D
    #24
  26. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Scott i have 2 of each of these available if there any good to you !!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    no motors and the other pump inpeller unit i have im going to keep as a spare just incase :), PM me your address if your interested and i will post them asap !!

    well my CLP unit is built up ready to go in car will update when ive fitted and tested it !!!
    #25
  27. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,164
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Cool. thanks mate.
    I'll take them.
    I got an Idea building and they might come in handy.

    Good luck with the test.
    #26
  28. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Well it works and the microswitches for the boot are now working aswel so jobs a gud un :)

    no
    probs will reply to your pm shortly !!
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
    #27
  29. Steve_D
    Offline

    Steve_D Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    That grapite impella went on mine... sourced a replacement from a scrappy £20 for the whole thing!! :icon_thumright: dont think he knew how expensive they are haha

    and because i only have 1 key, i couldnt recode it (so i hear), what i did was just de-solder the boards and solder mine onto the replacement one.. job done.. no messing with the motors or anything else..

    Try your local scrappy for one and do the same.. no recoding of keys necessary and mine's been working ever since (over 2 years now)
    #28
  30. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Ive upgraded the motor in mine so didnt replace the circuit board so no coding or vagcom involved, got a 4A0 pump for £20 so ive upgraded my pump youve probably got the same thinner type unless you have the earlier type then its all good.
    #29
  31. Steve_D
    Offline

    Steve_D Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    I dont know the type i have... 99 T reg i've got. pretty sure a facelift but i havent got a clue tbh

    Either way, replacing the pump or re soldering the PCB to a new unit would give the same results... mine was in and out in 30 mins though ;)
    #30
  32. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    113
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    The thinner impellers have a black plastic pipe angled of and push fit to the housing, the earlier ones have a rubber 'y' pipe as pictured above ive only upgraded as i dont want to be in the same situation in months to come.

    yeah it only takes minutes to remove the unit would be alot quicker if you didnt have to remove the stupid plastic boot trim lol either way im keyless again now and back on fob lol
    #31

Share This Page