1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Central Electronic Module - Coding

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by drsilviuro, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 29, 2009]
    I went for a little upgrade on my module (from 8P0-907-279- F to 8P0-907-279- N)
    I did a print screen of every byte for the F module and did the coding for the N one (as far as I could, because the N module has 30 bytes instead of 23 of the F)
    For the rest, the "long coding helper" helped a bit... Only the last 4 or 5 bytes had no options on the helper...
    Now, I have a little problem with my lighting...
    My ambient lighting doesn't work, navi and climate control leds blink like a christmas tree!
    On the exterior everything works fine, except my wing side markers (they continuously go on when I turn the lights on)
    Coding for F module:
    058C4F2F80141000000 0000000000000002 9FF1F5C0100
    Coding for N module: 05AC6F2F801410007D0 0000000000000002 9FF0F5C011007002 000000000

    It doesn't have any errors on scans...

    F module (top) vs N
    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 29, 2009]
    Looks like you have some coding differences between the two modules. The second and third bytes are different as well as some others. If you break the coding out like this it's easier to read.

    F: 05 8C 4F 2F 80 14 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 29 FF 1F 5C 01 00
    N: 05 AC 6F 2F 80 14 10 00 7D 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 29 FF 0F 5C 01 10 07 00 20 00 00 00 00

    I'd try to get the coding to match what you previously had and make sure everything works before enabling other options.
    #2
  4. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 29, 2009]
    You might have to enable the bits in each byte (and store the codes) one at a time.

    Looks like you have a relay missing (left hand side marked 460) from the N module. I'd pull your relay from the F module and plug this into the corresponding position on the N module.
    #3
  5. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    I did swap the relay from F to N and nothing is different! I even switched the little relays (marked 404 instead of 395) and same result.
    The above coding are after I matched byte by byte (not copy/paste) and that was the result...
    In "long coding helper" for N module there are some gaps (no help) as you can see at byte 01,08,23,24,25,26,27,28,29 so I don't know if the rest is according to my car...
    #4
  6. influxsg
    Offline

    influxsg ANdi P.

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    @drsilviu: could you please tell me why did you do that swap of the central electronic modules?
    #5
  7. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    for more options (30bytes instead of 23)
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 1, 2009]
    Ah found the thread, I will revisit our PM's & post up on here now mate, see if we can get to the bottom of this for you.
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 1, 2009]
    I remember advising to wipe everything & then add the options you had for your car & test, it would appear you didnt follow this advice mate, because the following bit wasnt coded to your original spec, BYTE 22 bit 4, Speed Dependent Trunk Locking Active, disable this option & see if your blinkers now correct themselves because this was a bug I reported to RT little while back, it actually disabled my blinkers on the wings completely, lets see if this corrects one problem 1st then try & resolve other.

    I still recommend you zero the module & turn the options on 1 at a time.

    Just remember the options maybe in different bits/bytes on the newer module so actually note the bits that are ticked interms of the options this represents, there is in the install folder of vagcom the Lcode tool that you can insert your code into & then open the label file for your module the code came of & it will show you whats actually installed without logging onto the car, its same as the longcoding helper you use when connected to the car.
    #8
  10. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2009]
    Ok, went from zero with the coding and done everything again. The new coding is: 058C4F2F8014100000000000000000000029FF0F5C010000000000000000
    This is without coding something from byte 22 to 29
    I will try to input it on my car and see what has changed.

    P.S why isn't it a help from 23byte to 29?
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 1, 2009]
    What version vagcom you using atm?
    #10
  12. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2009]
    805.4 and 904 beta with micro-can interface
    #11
  13. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 3, 2009]
    So it seems that the new coding cured my side blinkers. They work as they should :)
    Now I'm left with no ambient light and blinking leds....
    Btw, what am I missing with "speed dependent trunk locking active"??
    #12
  14. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 4, 2009]
    Should I swap all the relays from old to new to see if this works? Maybe it's something wrong with the new ones...
    #13
  15. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 8, 2009]
    The relay swapping didn't help... Anyone with a coding ideea?
    #14
  16. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 8, 2009]
    When you go over 5PMH the trunk automatically locks if you left it unlocked... otherwise it stays unlocked, and when you come to a traffic light, an enterprising pedestrian could open your trunk, grab you priceless Monet (which you were taking to be valued) and make off down an alley on foot, where your car cannot follow.

    -So if you're in the habit of taking priceless Monet paintings to be valued, I'd enable it! ;)

    Keith
    #15
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 8, 2009]
    Ok so my advisory resolved the blinkers issue, cool getting somewhere.

    Its been incorrectly labelled by RT, thats why I reported it, it doesnt do that function at all.

    Dont enable it or you'll lose your blinkers again, as I said above!!

    Beta version actually renames this I believe to something else now.

    I jsut had my eyes done again, so when they're healed bit more I'll study the schematics again.

    But please advise again what exactly are the issues now so I can work it through my skull.
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
    #16
  18. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 9, 2009]
    Ok, will make a video and post it on tube but until then...
    When I turn on the lights, ambient lights don't work and every led in the car (buttons of climate control, navi buttons, lock/unlock door switch, etc) blink like crazy :)
    #17
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 9, 2009]
    lol, video, ok so remind me of your year of car & I will check the illumination circuit wiring, I'm leading it to be a relay/fuse cause blinking would suggest power on/off all the time, ok whats your coding now mate after suggested changes?
    #18
  20. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 9, 2009]
    The coding is this: 058C4F2F8014100000000000000000000029FF0F5C010000000000000000
    My car is a late 2006 (09.2006) so a 2007 model...
    #19
  21. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    According to etka it's the relay with part number 1k0 951 253 which goes into KL30. Will try swapping them again (maybe I didn't push it all the way in the first time)
    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    Sorry mate, but as I as many arent getting site email notifications I keep missing your replies, yeah the relays/fuses do need a good push in, they should sit flat against the board tbh mate so get torch & check if there's a gap, also check the fuse surface for any deposits as I found mine had this on them I guess from long use, I cleaned them up & seemed to clear an error I had intermittantly, just scratch the surface a little so can see bare metal.

    I am still believing its related to fuses/relay or coding, it cant be much else cause you get lights up at least, when the illumination is on, do you hear a relay clicking at all, get your ear under the dash to listen mate
    #21
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    Ok what happens if you zero the whole module out so its basically new as such, do you still get flashing?

    If so do coding one byte at a time & see when the flashing comes back on from which byte.

    Also I assume you removed that relay & it stops the flashing?
    #22
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    I'm studying the wiring atm, does your cig lighter, buttons & all that have the ight time red illumination blink or is it just specific ones?
    #23
  25. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    they all blink, including cig lighter, door switch... but ambient lighting (led at the door handles and on the top) don't work at all...

    Any coding I try, the blinking remains....
    #24
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    So if you put completely zeros you still get blinking, I'll study the wiring again later mate as just got back in.
    #25
  27. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    If I put completely zeros it doesn't accept the coding. But if I zero them and then go step by step and modify according to my car I still get the blinking...

    But still haven't swapped the relay as here it's raining all day. Maybe tomorrow will get a window and try it
    #26
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 11, 2009]
    Ok, well I will inspect wiring as its raining here to, funny cause my GF said it was sunny in Italy today, lucky cow.
    #27
  29. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 12, 2009]
    ok, did some fiddling... That relay wasn't the problem. Swapped everything again and same result. Unplugged every relay one by one and no one controls the leds.
    But I managed to find out that plug E (navi, climate and ambient lighting) and G (esp button, cup holder and cig ligher) control them.
    Now, some dtc appeared. Will post them as soon as I get home
    #28
  30. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 12, 2009]
    This is the DTC:
    Address 09: Cent. Elect. Labels: 8P0-907-279-30-H.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 907 279 N HW: 8P0 907 279 N
    Component: Bordnetz-SG H53 2701
    Revision: 00H53000 Serial number: 00000007485887
    Coding: 058C4F2F8000000000000000000000000029FF0F5C010002000000000000
    Shop #: WSC 06356 128 39546

    Component: Fehler Lin-Slave 01

    5 Faults Found:
    02071 - Local Databus
    004 - No Signal/Communication
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01100100
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 19
    Mileage: 47924 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2009.07.12
    Time: 18:34:00

    Freeze Frame:
    ON
    Voltage: 5.00 V
    ON
    ON
    OFF
    OFF
    OFF

    01117 - Generator Terminal DF Load Signal
    008 - Implausible Signal
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101000
    Fault Priority: 6
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 19
    Mileage: 47924 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2009.07.12
    Time: 18:34:00

    Freeze Frame:
    ON
    Voltage: 5.00 V
    ON
    ON
    OFF
    OFF
    OFF

    00153 - Windshield Wiper Motor; Driver Side (V216)
    004 - No Signal/Communication
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01100100
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 19
    Mileage: 47924 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2009.07.12
    Time: 18:34:00

    Freeze Frame:
    ON
    Voltage: 5.00 V
    ON
    ON
    OFF
    OFF
    OFF

    00926 - Terminal 30
    011 - Open Circuit
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101011
    Fault Priority: 4
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 19
    Mileage: 47924 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2009.07.12
    Time: 18:34:00

    Freeze Frame:
    ON
    Voltage: 5.00 V
    ON
    ON
    OFF
    OFF
    OFF

    00918 - Terminal 31
    011 - Open Circuit
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101011
    Fault Priority: 4
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 19
    Mileage: 47924 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2009.07.12
    Time: 18:34:00

    Freeze Frame:
    ON
    Voltage: 5.00 V
    ON
    ON
    OFF
    OFF
    OFF
    #29
  31. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 20, 2009]
    No ideas? I'm scratching my head over here.... :think:
    #30
  32. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 17, 2009]
    I've an autoscan from a golf 6 and used his code for base...
    Changed everything to my specifications and this is the result
    059C472E80251A0018880080540009244109FF8F73690D40648000000000
    058C4F2F8000000000000000000000000029FF0F5C010002000000000000

    Will see if I have this...
    #31
  33. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 12, 2009]
    It doesn't work with either coding :(
    Now officially I give up...
    Looks like it wasn't ment to be
    #32
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 12, 2009]
    Never give up mate, I've just had number of issues myself to deal with that, it must be down to wiring thats all, it cant be anything else as I know the board works 100%.

    Didnt even see the posts above, the dtc's would be from removal of plugs, I guess you cleared them & they have gone now??

    Did you get a copy of elsawin as yet then you can trace wiring through & move appropriatedly.
    #33
  35. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 12, 2009]
    Yes, the dtc's cleared up...
    I have elsawin but it's not making sense to me.. Don't know where to start and to look for...
    #34
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 13, 2009]
    I'm in italy so you wanna ring me, where abouts are you?
    #35
  37. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 13, 2009]
    I'm in Romania :p
    #36
  38. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Found something. Am I getting closer? :p

    Connector assigment:
    - Onboard supply control unit -J519-
    Pin connector:
    A - 11-pin connector -T11b-
    B - 12-pin connector -T12c-
    C - 12-pin connector -T12d-
    D - 11-pin connector -T11c-
    E - 16-pin connector -T16a-
    F - 8-pin connector -T8h-
    G - 12-pin connector -T12e-
    H - 12-pin connector
    I - 2-pin connector -T2b-
    J - 6-pin connector -T6h-
    K - 10-pin connector -T10d-
    L - 2-pin connector -T2t-

    [​IMG]
    #37
  39. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    That will assist to knowing which plugs which but you need to know the wires individually & colours.

    Did you say you had elsawin?
    #38
  40. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
  41. drsilviuro
    Offline

    drsilviuro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Yes, i've got them from elsawin 3.7 (03.2009 update)
    #40

Share This Page