1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CD track info onto RNS-E screen - Done!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Issac Hunt, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not strictly a 8P retro-fit but I know a lot of people in here have the RNS-E and are dismayed by the lack of on screen info. I thought I would post my original post from the B7 section for interest........

    After messing about with all sorts of ipod adapters, FM transmitters etc I got sick of either **** sound quality or very poor control and functionality. Not to mention the total lack of track information on the screen!

    Just invested in a 320GB HDD media player. This allows full on screen display and all control is done through the RNS-E buttons. It seems to play almost every audio format I can think of along with most video formats, including DivX.

    At the moment its just in the glovebox but this will relocate into the boot when I strip out the interior for a proper stereo install.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    #1
  2. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
    #2
  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used a rapsody 320GB HDD player, running through a Kufatec media adapter. I took a couple of pictures and screen shots. When my photobucket account starts behaving itself I will post them up!
    #3
  4. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds interesting. Post the photos when you get the chance.
    #4
  5. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    #5
  6. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah thats pretty similar to the Rapsody. My reason for choosiong that model is that the Kufatec media adapter will allow full control of it through the RNS-E butttons. I didnt want to have to use an additional remote control, nor did I want to have a IR reciever eye stuck somewhere in the car.

    With this I 'll be able to install it in the boot and forget all about it.

    The connection I use are the red/white/yellow RCA connectors, and of course power and IR sockets.
    #6
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ah right. No I'm after the control via the RNS so I'd prefer to go for the Rapsody also. Which Kufatec adaptor did you use then? And any other things one would need?
    #7
  8. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Isaac,
    Looks like you have done a lot of retrofits...
    Did you need to re route the BT mic to the RNS for your SDS retrofit?..
    I have my SDS cd ready but heard that the BT stops working after you apply the patch without routing the Mic in series to the RNS from the overhead light cluster?
    #8
  9. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll need to wire the Mic so it 'passes through' the RNS-E and then onto the BT module. Sadly there is no way around this. It will never work until the Mic is re-wired.

    I used the IMA+ as I also have a reverse camera. You might get away with the cheaper IMA. I have never used an IMA so you'd need confirmation from Kufatec. Of course you'll need the wiring for the IMA and another control wire to go from the IMA+ into the IR port of the media player.
    #9
  10. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'll be in touch when I'm ready to do it.

    Cheers again Issac
    #10
  11. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mmmmm, very nice!!
    #11
  12. J7-AUDIA3
    Offline

    J7-AUDIA3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice bit of kit. Can I ask where you found it?

    Jay
    #12
  13. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    That looks fantastic. Have you posted this on navplus.us? If it's not already on there those guys would love to read about it.
    #13
  14. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not yet. I think its a relatively 'old' thing. Its just been brought upto date by the Kufatec IMA+ allowing control through the RNS-E buttons. I recall reading about a guy who installed one a while ago but he had to use an additional remote control to operate it.

    I got the media player from here.
    #14
  15. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    Lee (TDIAvant) fitted one of these with IMA/RNS-E control & integration about 6 months ago or more. I have a Rapsody RSH-100 with a 750GB disk in the A8, but as it is MMI I have to use a remote to control it.

    The RSH-100's are getting rare now as they are discontinued and from what someone was saying the 100's do not read ID tags, the RSH-300 is ok, but the volume is quite low on them compared to the RSH-100.

    Are you using the RSH-110?
    #15
  16. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it's a 110 Craig. A 100 was very hard to track down! The volume seems fine so far, its a slight touch lower than the other audio sources but nothing major.
    #16
  17. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    I think the 110 is ok, but the new 300's are a lot lower. SO much so that I got rid of mine in favour of an old 100.

    You can buy brand new RSH-100 with or without HD's from Ebay Germany, I picked up 3 last month.
    #17
  18. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    #18
  19. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    #19

Share This Page