1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CCTV help.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by jojo, May 21, 2008.

  1. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 21, 2008]
    Hi guys i'm in the process of installing CCTV in my business. I'm using a 250gb HD recorder to record and store footage, but what I want to know is, if it's possible to use a PC monitor with the machine. The recorder seems to only have BNC type outputs at the back, and I have a spare 14" flat screen with nine pin (RSR232?) input on it, can I get these to link up at all?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. Shades
    Offline

    Shades Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2008]
    If the HD recorder has a single BNC output then that will more than likely mean that the signal is just composite which, I believe, a monitor won't accept. (Most home TV/Video equipment have composite input/outputs but use the more commonplace 'phono' or SCART connection instead of BNC. BNC is mainly used for 'commercial' audio/video cables/equipment where they need to be more securely attached). In this case you will need to use a BNC to phono cable http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=1047&C=Maplin&U=SearchTop&T=bnc to phono&doy=22m5

    If there are 5 BNC connectors, grouped together, on the back of the HD recorder then this will more than likely mean they, jointly, ouput an analogue signal that a monitor with a 15pin VGA (analogue) port, can accept (as long as it can accept the presumably TV resolution input too). You will need a 5BNC -> VGA cable such as http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=bnc to vga&source=15&SD=Y

    Any chance of posting the model/manufacturer so I can hunt it down on the web and tell you more specifically?
    #2
  4. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 22, 2008]
    The HD recorder is at work, I will post up the info when I get there later on, thanks.
    #3
  5. Just Plain Old
    Offline

    Just Plain Old Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 22, 2008]
    Hi Jojo.

    We install CCTV systems.
    What shades has said is correct, although most budget machines have VGA outputs these days. Where did you buy it from??
    #4
  6. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 22, 2008]
    Hi guys, right, I brought myself a 4 channel CCTV system from these guys. www.iviewcameras.co.uk

    The recordable HD is an AVTECH 4CH MPEG-4 DVR, and on the back of it is a single BNC labelled 'Monitor' which I presume is the feed I will use to get a picture feed. There is also a 15 Pin DSUB connector labelled 'EXTERNAL l/0' and another 15Pin connection labelled 'D/V Port'(this one had a plastic cover over it). I've not actually tried to connect anything up yet, just asking in advance to see if I can make use of this PC monitor I have spare or need to invest in another monitor.
    #5
  7. Just Plain Old
    Offline

    Just Plain Old Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 22, 2008]
    Jojo, if you can, send it back to them. They are what we call 'box shifters'. If something goes wrong (and it probably will) it will cost 'You' to send it back and you'll be lucky to see it again within a month!

    I'm not sure but I think you can buy from these guys; http://www.norbain.co.uk/

    If you choose something from the Vista range, most products have a 5 Year warranty.
    #6
  8. Shades
    Offline

    Shades Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2008]
    Hi JoJo,

    Thanks for the info.

    Had a look at the iviewcameras website and of the three 4 channel AV Tech units I could find the manuals were all pretty identical...

    http://www.iviewcameras.co.uk/pdf/IV_AVTECH_761Z.pdf

    The video output (on all 3) is indeed composite via a BNC connector. I'm not sure what the D/V port is for (Digital Video? Perhaps JPO will know?). You can still connect the composite ouput to a VGA monitor by use of a composite to VGA convertor such as http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=98568&doy=22m5#overview.

    However the quality of the converted image will more than likely be 'iffy' to say the least. (The convertor has to split the (combined) composite signal into Red, Green, Blue and Sync componants which will undoubtedly affect the quality) In fact it is mentioned in the FAQ for the convertor that the image is slightly blurred).

    Hope that helps!
    #7
  9. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 23, 2008]
    Damn JPO, you make it sound bad lol. I was after a basic system for self installation, and it was cheap at the end of the day. It's more for use as a detterent, since the local chav community is growing, and they are not what I call friendly when ther is more than 2 of them. Most of it is installed already, so I will have to chance it mate.
    #8
  10. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 23, 2008]
    Cheers Shades, I might be better off investing in a new flat screen then. The supplied 'English' instructions(all of 6 pages) are pretty useless apart from how it all plugs together.
    #9
  11. Just Plain Old
    Offline

    Just Plain Old Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 23, 2008]
    Jojo,

    Why not just load the software onto your laptop and view it on that via the DVR network connection? Save you the cost of a monitor, which will be at least £250 if you want a half decent flat screen with video input.

    You don't need to keep it connected, just plug in IF you have a problem and want to view the evidence. You can then copy it to the laptop hard drive to save it being overwritten by the DVR.
    #10
  12. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 23, 2008]
    If you saw my Laptop I use at work Ian, you would tell me to buy a new one mate! lol It doesn't even have a CD ROM and the HD capacity is 4gb!! :laugh:
    I think I'm leaning towards a flat screen, or maybe even a budget TV with AV inputs will do.
    #11
  13. TDI-line
    Offline

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 24, 2008]
    Can we have a live feed to A-S too, then we can all monitor your shop. ;)
    #12
  14. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,455
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    [May 24, 2008]
    You mean the young little girls you are into. :sly:
    #13

Share This Page