1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Catch Can required for S3 8p Stage 2+ - Yes or No?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Forbzeeee, May 27, 2014.

  1. Forbzeeee

    Forbzeeee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    166
    As the title says.... Is a catch can required for s3 running stage 2+?

    Also has anyone got any stories of what happens if one isn't used? I have seen some pics of oil build up but has anyone actually had a breakdown as a result of not having a catch can?

    Thanks
     
  2. s3_trev

    s3_trev 3 door or no door!

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    372
    Its not required no. People on here use them, others dont. They also do not stop carbon build up. Although some would say it may reduce it. For a road car I wouldnt waste my time with it tbh.
     
    Forbzeeee likes this.
  3. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,431
    Likes Received:
    2,289
    If you'd asked me a few yrs ago,I might have said yes.

    They may well reduce build-up,but as one of the cam breathers exits to the turbo inlet,a catch can will never catch all of the ****.

    I've got a plan in process to get around this,by removing the breathers from recirculating into the engine entirely,but it's not a cheap or simple one.
     
    warren_S5 likes this.
  4. Forbzeeee

    Forbzeeee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    166
    Thanks S3_trev and S3Alex. To me it seemed expensive for the job it does!!
     
    s3_trev likes this.
  5. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    284
    get WMI instead much more rewarding mod:)
     
    S3Alex likes this.
  6. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,431
    Likes Received:
    2,289
    It's just open to debate really.

    It will for sure catch some of the **** but the problem is it's not all of it.

    The only real solution I can see is to eliminate the PCV system and vent the breathers to air which is next on my list.
     
    warren_S5 likes this.
  7. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,465
    Having owned one and then see what it didn't cure I'd say no. Also they are a f*****g pain in the a**e during winter as you seem to have to constantly be emptying them as there is more condensation build up. There is also the risk they could add more air leaks to the system as they tend to be a tad temperamental at time. If the money is burning a hole save up for an in tank lifter pump or upgraded rear engine mount!
     
    S3Alex likes this.
  8. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,431
    Likes Received:
    2,289
    I think it was a reasonable punt at solving a problem inherent to direct injection engines with low emissions in mind.

    It just didn't solve the breather emptying into the turbo.

    I've got some piccies of the oily mess in the old turbo somewhere.
     
    warren_S5 likes this.
  9. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,431
    Likes Received:
    2,289
    Here we go....


    Old turbo inlet....

    [​IMG]


    And on the fabricated downpipe/inlet to the new turbo,you can see the two breather inlets....


    [​IMG]


    And where these exit into the turbo inlet....


    [​IMG]


    And part of the solution....

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page