1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

car wont rev past 1500rpm

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by rydinator, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. rydinator
    Offline

    rydinator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    as the title states, my car will turn over and tick over but it wont rev past 1500rpm, i have tried everything pretty much:

    fuel pump
    cleaned the injectors
    replaced the throttle body and maf sensor
    and not long ago i changed the engine temperature sensor and lambda sensor

    It seems to be intermittent as it was running on sunday although it wasnt boosting and then a loss of power and the revving problem

    So what else could it be causing this?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    You need to get it on the computer mate, unless you will be spending on parts forever
    #2
  4. rydinator
    Offline

    rydinator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    already have mate, didnt come up with anything apart from

    17967 - Throttle Valve Control part (J338): Fault in basic settings
    P1559 - 35-00 - -
    17973 - Throttle Actuator (J338): Lower Stop not Reached
    P1565 - 35-00 - -

    ive done everything it says to do on the ross tech website and still nothing, its doing my head in now!

    it also wont let me do a TBA, and when i turn the ignition on i cant hear anything from the throttle body, although it was running and driving on sunday and then it done it again.
    #3
  5. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Ah yes i remember now did you check the throttle body wiring? and where was the new TB sourced?
    #4
  6. rydinator
    Offline

    rydinator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    oh yea i remember you commenting last time lol, its just doing my head in, i dont want to keep bringing it up, but i just want it sorted. Yea i checked the wire it all seemed fine and it was a second hand one sourced off ebay, but i was assured it was fine. Do you think it could still be the throttle body though even though it has been revving past 1500rpm?
    #5
  7. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Who knows ebay parts could be good or bad its a lottery, did you get a battery?
    #6
  8. rydinator
    Offline

    rydinator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    yea got a battery and that didnt make any difference, i dont like taking my car to the garage for them to tell me something i already know, thats why i want to try sort it out myself, but its been about 4 weeks now and i think im gonna have no choice in a minute!
    #7
  9. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    Are the exact fault codes coming up on each throttle body? old one and ebay one? there might be some one on here who is selling one who have upgraded to the r32 TB
    #8
  10. rydinator
    Offline

    rydinator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    yea the exact codes were coming up on both of them. Its an agu, so its cable throttle. Could it be a faulty ecu? Vaccum leak? bad earth?
    #9
  11. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    It wont be a vacuum leak bad earth maybe, trouble is you dont know for sure the ebay one is good?
    #10
  12. rydinator
    Offline

    rydinator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    thats the thing, i dont know if it was ok before i got it, the person i got it off said it was working fine when he removed it, only way i can find out is to try one i definately know is working, but then i might put the same error onto there one! how could i go about checking the earths?
    #11
  13. Pazz
    Offline

    Pazz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 22, 2011]
    Having the same problem, but only when cold - revs drop to 1100 and stay there.
    Throttle Body cleaned, nothing on VAGCOM, no vacuum leaks, MAF cleaned.
    You had any joy?
    #12
  14. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Mar 22, 2011]
    Have seen a similar problem which turned out to be the crank speed sensor. When it revs does the rev counter go bananas and bounce all over the place?

    No fault codes listed for this problem either, the CSS was a shot in the dark.
    #13

Share This Page