1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

car struggles at 3000rpm

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Andrew Mcculloch, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    can any1 help me ive upgraded my turbo to a garret and have had problems since i got it back. Was told to put a boost controller on it so i got the aem tru boost.

    it will go past the 3000rpm but i have to go real slow, but if u plant the pedal it just chokes itself
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 31, 2015]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Ok... define upgraded and what car/engine? specs of the build?... can't just bolt on a Garrett as you probably know... :)

    Welcome to ASN

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    ive got the garret gt28r with a bigger intercooler. ive also fitted genesis 550cc injectors, bigger fuel pump, aem piggyback ecu, aem tru boost, stainless steel exhaust from manifold to back box.
    #3
  5. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    its a audi a3 1.8t agu 8l w reg
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Has it been mapped on a dyno or have you just bolted this lot together?

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    been on the road twice first time when i got it all fitted and thats when it would not go by3000rpm then i got the tru boost done a week ago and it chokes at 3000rpm but as i said i have to take ma time and then i can get more revs but if i floor the pedal it coughs and bangs
    #6
  8. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    well... I suspect then that it needs mapping as the fuelling sounds out... AGU's aren't wideband so need to be mapped properly... with this piggy back ecu thing I assume you have gone MAF less?

    Do not drive it blind to AFR... you have made a lot of changes... I wouldn't be using any boost either so run on actuator pressure...

    Your car really needs to be going on a dyno where you can load it up and set the AFR properly... not familiar with the AEM stuff but assume it can be done through a connected laptop and appropriate software

    <tuffty/>
    #7
  9. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    its been mapped twice now could it be the standered ignition coil or the standered air mass meter.

    im not sure wat u mean by Do not drive it blind to AFR... New to the tuning scene and not sure wat it means
    #8
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    What I meant was you need to know what your fuelling is doing... :)

    TBH mate with out logging the car on a dyno (as you are running a non standard ECU) then its difficult to say what is up... it could be ignition, fuelling or something else... 3000rpm is close to the onset of boost on a GT28r but not sure your issue can be diagnosed without it going on a dyno at a specialist mate...

    Std ECU's at least can be logged... no doubt the AEM can be too but without a wideband lambda you are not going to know what the fuel is doing...

    Where abouts are you based?

    <tuffty/>
    #9
  11. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    im based in ayrshie scotland. im not sure if i should just take it back to the tunner and tell him im not happy with the map he has done on it.

    many thanks for ur help.
    #10
  12. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    No worries mate... if its playing up then yes your best bet is to take it back to the tuner.... was it your tuner that suggested you get a boost controller? how did they map it for boost prior to this? Are you trying to run more boost than it was mapped for?

    <tuffty/>
    #11
  13. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    it was the tuner that suggested it and im not sure how he did it b4 i got it. i dont know how to work the boost contoller so i cant turn it down
    #12
  14. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Humm... was the car running ok before you fitted the boost controller? do you have a boost gauge? what boost were you running before and after?

    <tuffty/>
    #13
  15. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    its made the car run better as i could not get by 3000rpm b4 i put it on and now it struggles to get by that point if u r driving fast
    #14
  16. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    So... your tuner mapped the car but it wouldn't go beyond 3000rpm?? then he told you to fit a boost controller to fix the problem and you don't know what boost you are running?

    <tuffty/>
    #15
  17. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    thats sounds about rite. will check the print out of the rolling road and see if its on that
    #16
  18. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Wow!......

    <tuffty/>
    #17
  19. nwhiteley
    Offline

    nwhiteley Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Is he a professional tuner, ie he has a tuning company, or is it just a hobby for him?

    Are there any warning lights on the dash?
    Have you had it scanned for faults?
    #18
  20. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    triple h tuning in irvine ayrshire. has own garage and website. nothing has come up on dash but i think he said the air mass but its a new 1 thats on it
    #19
  21. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Fitting a turbo like the GT28r would need a VR6 housing for an AGU MAF sensor and the map scaled to cope... I have no idea how the AEM integrates but if its controlling fuelling etc as the AGU does through the MAF then thats gonna be an issue...

    <tuffty/>
    #20
  22. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    What model is the AEM ECU?

    <tuffty/>
    #21
  23. nwhiteley
    Offline

    nwhiteley Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    If he reckons its the MAF, just unplug it and take it for a spin, if it runs better, it needs a new MAF and/or housing, if not, look elsewhere.

    Or, does it not work like that with a BT conversion?
    #22
  24. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    AGU (and therefore I would assume the piggy back ECU) uses the MAF for everything... unplugging it doesn't work the same as cars with ME7 ECU's...

    Pulling the MAF on a normal AGU pretty much disables the car...

    <tuffty/>
    #23
  25. nwhiteley
    Offline

    nwhiteley Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Ah well, you learn something new every day. Sorry to the OP if i lead you on a wild goose chase.
    #24
  26. Turbo unit
    Offline

    Turbo unit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    sorry to jump in but have you removed the n75 valve then if running a manaul boost controller??, was this set up the tuners idea?, And why are you using a piggy back ecu ??
    #25
  27. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2012]
    aem f/ic ecu system i have
    #26
  28. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Feb 14, 2012]
    This whole thing is utterly shocking from start to finish frankly. What sort of professional would allow a car out with a customer popping, farting, not running on boost, with what appears to be no fuelling control at all?

    As Tuffty said, pull the plug on the MAF on an AGU and it will not have a clue what is going on.

    I would be getting it to the nearest place that knows VAGs, and knows what they are doing, pronto.

    I do feel for you if I'm being honest, as it sounds like you have acted on some very bad advice.

    The ECU fitted to the car could be by the looks of things the F/IC 6 or 8. Both should really have the capability of running your gear if et up right, BUT, I must say it does look like these are more commonly used on turbocharged VTEC engines as opposed to out of the box turbo engines.
    #27
  29. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    took the car to the tuner today and he has told me that on the computer the maf kept say error but the thing is ive just replaced it a year ago. does this mean its a wiring fault on the maf
    #28
  30. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    also unplugged the maf and it still runs and has the same fault
    #29
  31. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    MAF's don't last... I changed 4 in a year before now... seems really hit and miss... really can't comment on the wiring as you install is bespoke... did you do it? was it the tuner who did the conversion?

    If it was you then I would be checking your wiring just to eliminate it as an issue... assuming the software suggests its the MAF then its plausible...

    Well... seeing as this is all non std then I don't really know for sure but the fact the engine runs the same with it connected and disconnected then it would suggest this could be a potential cause...

    <tuffty/>
    #30
  32. Andrew Mcculloch
    Offline

    Andrew Mcculloch New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    its was a different garage that fitted the kit. but they ripped me off took over 3months to get ma car back off them and itook it to the tuner im using the now and he got the car running as i got it back a non runner. will try a new maf the morra and if not i guess its the wiring
    #31
  33. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,722
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    Good luck bud....

    <tuffty/>
    #32

Share This Page