1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

car keeps loosing power

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by meaks, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. meaks
    Offline

    meaks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi. im new to the forum. ive got a 2005 a3 2.0tdi dsg. i have a problem that ony happens when ive been on a drive abot 70mph when i stop and try to pull off again it looses power to about 45mph max. if i turn the engine off then back on its fine again. there are no lights on the dash but ive had it plugged in at my local garage and was told the fault code is p0234. but they hadnt got the time to look at the car for a week or so. has anyone else had this problem.?. any help please.. thanks..
    #1
  2. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Active Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    5
  3. Jack_tdi
    Offline

    Jack_tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming its a 140 you have overboost conditions

    Countless threads like this. Either change turbo or clean it.

    I tryed to clean mine with little or no success.

    I ended up changing the turbo for £450 mine is a Quattro so a lot more pre work involved.

    You will be told by people on here to upgrade to hybrid but this will be more expensive if your trying to keep costs down there are plenty turbos knocking around look on eBay. There are used refurbed and new ones.

    Garret dont make cores for these turbos so reconditioned ones may be done with cheap parts but a used one will as good as any if you take it apart and clean it. ( this can take an hour at the most) and the cheapest I could find a new one for was from darkside developments

    http://www.darksidedevelopments.co.uk/products/garrett-gt1749v-bkd-pd140-2-0-tdi-turbocharger.html

    Good luck mate
    #3
  4. Jack_tdi
    Offline

    Jack_tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ment to put this at the top

    The over boost is caused by the vanes being stuck and the turbo making full
    Boost all the time.
    #4
  5. southylad
    Offline

    southylad Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    had this with my car mate bkd 140 tdi s line , had the turbo reconditioned and spot on sinse if your car has a few miles i wouldnt even think about cleaning just refurb it , hope this helps mate
    #5
  6. meaks
    Offline

    meaks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers. sounds like it will cost a bit to get fixed..
    #6
  7. chinnyhill10
    Offline

    chinnyhill10 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never understood why the dash doesn't even indicate that the car has gone into limp mode when this happens. When it happened to me in my 140 Golf mk5, I had no idea at all and thought it was the onset of something serious.
    #7
  8. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    & the rest, to do it properly, meaning stripping all the vnt parts out, not just split in half & clean what you can see, but literally everything, then clean fully & reassemble/test mechanisms & check for any shaft play, it takes a number of hours, done one today as it happens.
    #8
  9. Jack_tdi
    Offline

    Jack_tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have access to the equipment to test them so didn't go too in depth but all the vanes and ring that moves them all out and cleaned within an hour.

    But like everyone says you can never beat a professional or brand new......
    #9
  10. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a recon turbo fitted just before Xmas now I'm getting this overboost fault, really not impressed, gonna call garage in the morning. This should not happen within 2 and a half months, and it wasn't driven for a month of that as it was in for a new bumper and wings!
    #10
  11. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Recon, that sounds unlikely it was even cleaned if its 2 months & back to square one or you're putting out vast amounts of crap out the back.

    If you get stuck, I have a fully working 100% cleaned bkd turbo for sale, PM for more info.
    #11
  12. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got no smoke at all from exhaust, its under a warranty so I'm gonna call tomorrow and say a few choice words, could loose pipes cause overboost? Because I tend to hear a whistle as the turbo boosts then a DV sounding noise which I never heard when it was first replaced
    #12

Share This Page