1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

car died! stuck on the A1 (live)

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jcb, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    coming off a roundabout and it just lost a cylinder, coasted to a layby where it lost another then died!
    i left it for a moment, checked it had oil, water, electricity, tried starting it up agin and it fired on three, then four then two and died.

    i happen to have some tools, suspecting something coil pack/plug related I pulled the coil packs to find three out of four spark plugs loose!
    sods law the only long socket I dont have is the fecking one I need so an forced to wait the esrimated 2 hours for the RAC....


    how do three spark plugs come loose now given I have just driven 300 miles fault free?!
    am I beimg a pessimist by thinkimg this os not just a loss of compression through loose plugs?

    sounds like it is fubar!

    anyone got an AJL engine for sale somewhere near the Sandy roundabout on the A1!?
    #1
  2. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    385
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    pretty unusual! Have you changed the plugs recently?
    #2
  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,841
    Likes Received:
    346
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    ICM?

    I've seen a couple of plugs come lose (BMWs) but that was just where they was not done up tight enough.
    #4
  5. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    138
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    icm or crank sensor maybe ??
    #5
  6. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    nope, embarrassingly the plugs must be 2 years old!
    RAC man pulled them.

    1 plug had dropped the centre electrode. I dread to think where it is now!
    one other just looked shagged, both were loose as was one further one.

    RAC slapped in some back up plugs and they tightened up OK them we realised at least one coil pack is dead, or at leasy dead under any kind of load.
    45mins later only to find that the nearest factor only has one!
    swapped it around to show misfore on 4, duly plugged into 4, then a missfire on 3!
    RAC is currently off to get another one from another factor in the opposite direction!

    boy has patience and has earned his stripes today!
    #6
  7. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    Top marks to RAC but negative marks to you for poor plugs. :)
    #7
  8. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    241
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    I'm only down the road mate, you could have popped in for a coffee. lol
    #8
  9. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 22, 2011]
    not plugs afterall
    dodgy MAF!

    ran lean on 1 and 2 cooked the plugs.
    was missing as it was dumping fuel.

    pulled the MAF after some top advice from Kevin at KMK an drove another 90 miles!

    now have a brand new unwanted coil pack if anyon needs one
    #9
  10. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    found the spark plug electrode!!!


    turbo now sounds like it has swallowed a kazoo
    #10
  11. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    **** :(

    New turbo needed?

    All this from a dodgy MAF and possible future issues by old spark plugs?
    #11
  12. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    MAF killed the plugs, no doubt. ran very lean and scorched the tips, too hot for the electrode on one.

    turbo still pulls well, may just be a dinged vane.
    still good excuse to start looking for a cheap option.

    I still have my 630cc injectors, Mapped ECU and MAF from the 2l build!!

    just need a ghetto manifold and a 2nd hand turbo!
    #12
  13. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    212
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    Didn't you felt like you needed a kick in the nuts after the engine stopped and you just congratulated yourself for selling the engine you had ? I know i did- TWICE !
    My allroad dropped a valve on motorway as i was back from Bristol (close to slough) and required nearly 4 days work as one piston was smashed and the head scrap ! It also needed 900 quid worth of parts (cams/lifters/cambelts,etc.) and prior that i've sold 2 good engines and a v6 which had a fully built engine following a broken cambelt !
    Hope you'll get it fixed cheaply !
    #13
  14. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    yep, thats exactly what I was thinking.

    now researching turbo options....
    #14

Share This Page