1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

car cut out wont start :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Cargo, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    Was driving down motorway other day doing bout 60 put my foot down to pass a car
    And the car just cut out tryed starting it it starts but dies straight away the only light
    On the dash is the battery light.
    Went back to it yesterday started it it ticked over but wouldn't rev up after bout 2 mins cut
    Out with battery light on again
    Any 1 got any idea what it could b :(
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    could be the alternator?
    #2
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    id get it checked for codes
    even tho the eml aint on it may still have a code stored.
    #3
  5. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    Sounds like the crank sensor , need to scan for any codes really...
    #4
  6. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    Will try and scan later when get home from work it will stay started if i keep the rev on but revs up n down then stalls if i let off rev or rev it to much
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,568
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    Crank sensor seems likely, but check for codes.

    Battery light is normal so long as it comes on after the engine stalls. If its on with the engine running something isnt right.
    #6
  8. ticketyboo90
    Offline

    ticketyboo90 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    Just make sure you have fuel in before taking it to a garage and looking silly! I've had 2 a3's that said it was on quarter when the tank was dry as a pancake! Very unlikely but on off chance. Get some cables to another car and see how long it goes for. Leave the cables on for 10 minutes. If it's still running your alternators probley packed in! Or maybe your battry is goosed!
    #7
  9. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    Ok up date i got my vcds out n turns out its out of date so wouldn't work changed crank sensor still doing the same. Thoght i had a break through when i unplugged the maf sensor it started running fine so went bought a new one changed it started running fine but had no boost seemed to just make the sound of an hoover but didn't go anywhere thought it mite just need resetting so took battery off for 5mins n now it wont start again anymore ideas trying to get hold of vag com to look for codes
    #8
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    so its a copy of vcds ?

    is the new MAF oem or aftermarket ?
    #9
  11. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    Vcds was just a cheap one off ebay the maf was a oem bosch 1 from gsf would the maf stop the turbo spooling up? I have noticed the traction control light has come on but might b that i unplugged the maf to keep it started
    #10
  12. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    no but the maf can cause problems but it would still boost with maf unplugged so cant be that
    it really needs codes reading to save spending on things its not.
    #11
  13. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 1, 2013]
    just replaced my maf as tc light was on , the car would not run at all with the maf unpluged..... also had to clear the ecu with vcds before the new maf would run correctly

    dont know if disconnecting the battery for 5mins would clear the stored faults.

    try downloading vcds lite again and c if it works,,,,,,,, daft question have you checked all boost...intercooler pipes are intact and connected?

    mark
    #12
  14. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2013]
    Hi mark did your car stop boosting aswell b4 u changed the maf sensor.
    I tryed few things today but still no joy put the stock dv on swap the n75 valve then did the n249 delete checked all pipes look visually good no cracks or anything got a mate Cuming down tomoz with a diagnostic machine but not sure it gnna b any good as its just a cheap fault finder not vagcom or ross tech
    #13
  15. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 2, 2013]
    there was no kick in the back around 3000rpm, just when throught the rev range like a non turbo car.

    ,
    mark
    #14
  16. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2013]
    Yeh sounds same turbo seems to whistle but doesn't go anywhere
    #15
  17. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    Ok checked for codes it came up with maf sensor and check d.v cleared. Changed maf for new 1 replaced d.v with stock cleared faults both cleared traction control went off car wouldn't start after 10 mins of trying to start it started came up with maf again could i have a brand new dodgy part or do i need proper vagcom to clear this fault any help would much appreciated
    #16
  18. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    I would probably try using a genuine vcds cable. I think bez suggested this already.
    #17
  19. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    He did pal just wondering if anyone new for definitely if i needed vcds or would i be wasting my money buying 1 just found this 1 would this do it

    Gumtree
    Thanks in advance
    #18
  20. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    looks like a chinese cable, did you try downloading vcds lite its free you would still need a cable under a tenner on ebay

    mark
    #19
  21. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    Will try downloading tonight i do have a cable but not sure if it will work wat cable is it i need
    #20
  22. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    first one i used
    [h=1]VAG GROUP USB COM PORT OBD2 II KKL ECU DIAGNOSTIC CABLE LEAD WORK VCDS-LITE /409[/h]
    just do a check on ebay
    #21
  23. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    Trying vcds light now an all its saying when clicking on read engine is no response from controller
    #22
  24. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    316
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    Do you have the correct ftdi cable? No response is usually cable or ecu/fuse. Try turning the ignition on first, then plug the obd side in then plug the usb side it.
    Also have you set up the correct COM port in VCDS options?

    My money is on a big boost leak, like a hose has popped off or split.
    #23
  25. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2013]
    Tryed it all ways mate im guessing my cables mite b a did 1 it says vag106 on side of it i cant hear any leaks or anything im hopeing that when i get a proper vcds that it clears the faults for gud puzzling me
    #24
  26. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    have you checked the connector at maf common fail tuffty put a thread somwere lol not sure we're it is!
    #25
  27. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,568
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Big airleak maybe?

    If it runs without the MAF and doesnt run with it, that suggests the MAF is feeding back incorrect info. This is sometimes because its faulty, but other times it can be because no air is flowing thru the maf due to a split pipe somewhere.
    #26
  28. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Wat like the actual connector or the wires mate
    #27
  29. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    yes mate the pins inside connector come loose I had this problem fault was high signal input for maf! Mine looked ok aswell too be fair!
    #28
  30. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Worth a try thanks for ur help
    The car is starting now but traction control lights on n no boost when i clear the fault with my mate cheap ebay tool it wont start but traction control lights off then after a few mins of trying it starts then traction comes bk on this is with maf pluged in aswell
    #29
  31. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,568
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Instead of just clearing them, why not tell us what the fault codes are?
    #30
  32. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Its just a cheap ebay tool all its saying is maf sensor to high but its a brand new maf did say check d.v but that's cleared andnot come back
    #31
  33. Vwdan80
    Offline

    Vwdan80 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Could it be the tip is split in half down by the turbo sucking air bypassing the maf?
    #32
  34. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2013]
    Fair point i will have a look i did take the tip off at the turbo end but didn't bring it up i was testing to see if the turbo shaft hadn't shaped all seems to b fine with the turbo it is a badger5 tip so don't tink it will have split but worth a try cheers
    #33
  35. Cargo
    Offline

    Cargo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    Ok got a code for u all any 1 got any idea wat it is its Cumming up pressure drop between turbo and throttle valve p1297
    #34
  36. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    hole somwere between turbo and inletmanifold check all intercooler pipes and boost pipe too dv!
    #35

Share This Page