1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't turn off ECON

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by trotman, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. trotman
    Offline

    trotman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2007]
    Hi,

    I've done a search and read through quite a few posts on Air Con etc - I've had a 51Plate TDi130Sport for 2weeks now. Didn't really think anything of the Climate Control until a really hot day recently when the car just wasn't getting cold inside. Have read through the manual and it says that if ECON is turned on, then the compressor to cool the air is off. Which makes perfect German sense!

    However, the problem i have, ECON will not switch off - press it and it will just not turn off! Does this mean my compressor is actually shagged?!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Aug 29, 2007]
    This happened in my previous A4, if the econ won't switch off its a system safety feature, on mine a stone had punctured the air con unit so in effect there was no gas, I was lucky mne was replaced under warranty as I'd literally bought the car a few days earlier so it was hard to aportion the blame.

    You are probably looking at a bill of £800 at an Audi dealership or £450 at a specialist, sorry to be the bearer of bad news, I hope I'm wrong :(
    #2
  4. trotman
    Offline

    trotman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2007]
    Hmmm - i shall go see my mechanic and see what he says! Bugger i think is the appropriate statement
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Aug 29, 2007]
    Definately don't go back to Audi unless under warranty. Take it to an aircon specialist, but it won't be cheap, there are 3 major components in the system each of which are around £200, plus the labour to get to them.
    #4
  6. lbaters
    Offline

    lbaters New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 30, 2007]
    Hi I had the same problem and a re-gas fixed it straight away. No need for expensive parts. I suggest a test and re-gas as a starting point.
    #5
  7. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 30, 2007]
    Mine did the same and it was the G65 pressure sensor, down beside the radiator, it was telling the system that there wasn't any gas in the system. Changed it and it worked fine..only £40 from audi...try and get the car scanned with vag-com and see if there are any low pressure codes etc etc.
    #6
  8. doogleman
    Offline

    doogleman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2007]
    I agree with this, especially about getting VAG-COM on it first. You never know, it could be a relatively in-expensive solution.
    :icon_thumright:
    #7
  9. trotman
    Offline

    trotman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2007]
    I'm hoping for the Inexpensive solution! lol!!

    I shall get my friend at VW to have a look at the car!

    Cheers for the responses guys! :)
    #8
  10. samuelt
    Offline

    samuelt Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2007]
    I agree get the sensor and change it yourself, i found the instructions on the web for my friend afew months ago but have not been able to find them today, sorry. I think you have to take the drivers headlamp out to get access. anyone else know???
    #9

Share This Page