1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant select 1st 3rd, or 5th

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by bigdavevw, Apr 18, 2014.

  1. bigdavevw

    bigdavevw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, today when i jumped into my car (a3 t sport 2001) i couldn,t select 1st 3rd or 5th without some serious trouble. I have had trouble getting it into 1st before but it didn,t happen that often.

    Can someone help me please
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,992
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    Selector fork broken by the sounds... needs the box stripping for a repair...

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. Alex C

    Alex C Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    240
    can't select 1st, 3rd or 5th? What about 2nd and 4th? Just the gears on the forward throw of the gearstick that you can't select....could it be a shift tower or linkage problem?
     
  5. bigdavevw

    bigdavevw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    2nd and 4th select no probs. I,m thinking linkage rather than internal gearbox fault. There are no strange noises coming from it, and when i eventually do manage to get the car into 5th, there are no noises then
     
  6. bigdavevw

    bigdavevw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    no one able to help?
     
  7. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476
    Likes Received:
    2,036
    can you get reverse?

    If it's just an issue with the gears at the 'forward' position of the stick, I'd suggest the cable may have moved or an end broken or slipped perhaps.

    I'd be doing a cable alignment first and checking out the cable ends at the box to see if that cures the issue. It's really easy and takes about 5 minutes. Do a search on gear cable setup method, it's a nice simple job :)
     
  8. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    Check all your engine mounts before setting up the linkage.

    Have seen the hydro mounts collapse before that has caused the whole lot to move and the cable adjustment go out of whack.
     
  9. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476
    Likes Received:
    2,036
    the cables are hard mounted at the shifter, and also onto the box. In theory, a collapsed engine mount shouldn't effect gear selection at all, unless it's almost fallen out all together :laugh:
     
  10. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    In theory yes... but a worn dogbone mount makes it a right pain to get gears when making progress. In practice for some reason it does seem to make a difference!
     
  11. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476
    Likes Received:
    2,036

    You're probably right! it shouldn't, but I do see where you're coming from :)
     

Share This Page