1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cant get heater to blow on windscreen on my audi a4? and econ problem

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by jamesey, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. jamesey

    jamesey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi ive just checked the heater controls and ive got a couple of probs , if i go through the buttons it blows on feet and face vents then moves to windscreen but doesnt blow through the vents i can hear it blowwing near the top , could it be a link that has come off.

    also my econ button is on all the time when i press it the light goes out but comes back on again , i dont think my a/c works?
    here a pic of what sort it is,,,,,,,,,,can you go into settings etc 20131012_170100.jpg on these like the passat b6 controls?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jamesey

    jamesey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    my ign had just been turned on thats why the light isnt on lol
     
  4. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,005
    Likes Received:
    528
  5. jamesey

    jamesey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers bud , ill be looking tomorrow.
     
  6. Greeny233

    Greeny233 Avants are just better!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    200
    Having the same problem myself. I removed the solenoid motor and stripped it and re-greased it but it made no difference so I ordered a second hand control unit which made no difference :eek:( think I'm going to try replacing the solenoid with a new one (£175 + vat from Audi) or a second hand one.
     
  7. moggs

    moggs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had the same problems when I bought mine. The flaps had stuck on mine and didn't direct any air to the windscreen, take all the glovebox bits out and have a look, you may be lucky like me. Haven't had a problem since. My econ light on was the sensor located in the air con rad just by the passenger headlight. Replaced that and all was good. About £50 for the part.
     
  8. jamesey

    jamesey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    took the glove box out i found the windscreen motor stuck and the recirc one shut aswell that also wouldnt shut or open , no wonder it was steaming up , i took them off greased and hey presto all works again , apart from the aircon ,
    i looked on vagcom and the air con came up with a high pressure sensor (g65) , does this sound simular?
     
  9. moggs

    moggs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's the fault mine was showing, but apparently shows if the system needs re gassing as well. I would edge my bets with the sensor, it's easy to fit, took me about 15 mins to do and doesn't cost too much, about £50.
     

Share This Page