1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cant connect to the ECU

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by 1.8T_, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    well suddenly my obd port is not working,
    when i connect the obd port to the pc i hear the sound that its connected but cant read .
    and the led function the controller not lighting also i tried two cables.
     
  2. Vex182

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    78
    Have you checked behind the port to make sure it's all still connected alright?
     
  3. Scullies

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    385
    Check the fuse too
     
  4. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    which fuse to check?
     
  5. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
  6. Scullies

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    385
    I can't remember off hand but it might be #10, something along the lines of engine management.
    Can you start the car?
     
  7. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the car starts fine all ok no problems,
     
  8. Lewis583

    Lewis583 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    89
    As said fuse is the first place to check. Do you have an aftermarket radio fitted?

    I'm on my phone so don't have access to fuse diagram but there definitely is one.
     
  9. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still cant fix this problem!!!
    I get this erros
    the problem started alone I didn't touch any wire or something it was work perfect
    yes I have aftermarket headunit but it did work smooth so its not the headunit
    any ideas ? maybe change the ecu? the car starts and drive like normal
    [​IMG]
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    [​IMG]
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    [​IMG]
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  10. epox

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    49
    have you tried changing the com port? could be windows is using com port 1 for somthing else.
     
  11. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,947
    Likes Received:
    985
    sound more pc than car
     
  12. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I did the com thing com 1
    the k line where it should be connecting?
     
  13. epox

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    49
    #13 epox, Jun 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  14. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    Just unplug from car and perform dongle check in the application
     
  15. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the com thing
    @udi a3 what do you mean?
     
  16. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    When you first install vcds you perform a device test, have you tried re installing
     
  17. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes when i press test i get this error " port status ok . Interface not found"
     
  18. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    Hmm buy genuine :)
     
    Audi Dynamik likes this.
  19. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm is this a wire diagram for the obd port?
     
  20. basil brush

    basil brush Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    83
    Try it on another VAG car !
     
  21. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    I think your cheepo cable has failed on you try another cable or take it into a computer repair shop and see if they can check it out.
     
  22. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to connect to other car seat Ibiza 2013 and its worked so the problem is with my car.
     
  23. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    175
    scrap it :D
     
  24. basil brush

    basil brush Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    83
    That makes me the winner , what's my prize ?
    :D
     
  25. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the k line test and its fine not the k line im take it to the garage I hope the can fix it.
     
  26. 1.8T_

    1.8T_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    an update
    i just tried anther something
    i disconnected the battery for about 3-4 hours and reconnect . and its work nowwww :jump::w00t:
     

Share This Page