1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you tell if your S3 has been chipped ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jasdent, May 22, 2007.

  1. Jasdent
    Offline

    Jasdent Mahonee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Hey guys ?

    this is not as stupid a question as it may sound :)

    Bought my S3 about 10 months ago and changed the MAF yesterday with awsome results. When I bought the car the guy said the car had been chipped by 'big boys toys' in London but didn't have a proof of this.

    Is there any way I can tell if the car has actually been chipped without having to fiddle with the ECU ?

    cheers,

    G.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. QUATTRO_REP
    Offline

    QUATTRO_REP Diesel Power!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    get it on a dyno mate to see what bhp its pushing. thats the best way i think and u'll get your exact hp figure and a print out.
    #2
  4. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [May 22, 2007]
    Call Big Boys Toys (Should be a revo if it's from them), tell them the reg plate and they should be able to search by invoice...I had a load of invoices from them when I bought my car :)
    #3
  5. monkeytrousers
    Offline

    monkeytrousers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Not very scientific, but if you can hear the turbo "roaring" rather than whining then it could be chipped. When mine was standard, I could hardly hear the turbo.
    #4
  6. Jasdent
    Offline

    Jasdent Mahonee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    contacted big boys toys they said I had to take the car to them to get data logged. bit impractical as they are 500 miles away now !

    surely there is an easier way than paying for a rolling road ?
    #5
  7. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [May 22, 2007]
    Revo SPS device if it's been Revo'd....ask the old owner perhaps which map was put in?
    #6
  8. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 22, 2007]
    if you have vag-com you could log the maf g/m2 with a full acceleration run, then do some crude maths on the result?

    otherwise a rolling road test will be cheapest...
    #7
  9. ChriS3
    Offline

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    12
    [May 22, 2007]
    Have a race with one that's not!
    #8
  10. Daniel Vzla
    Offline

    Daniel Vzla Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    x 2 Drive a standard one and then go to your car, you'll know instantly
    #9
  11. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 22, 2007]
    Put it in reverse - If you can do more than 40mph it means it has been chipped:icon_thumright:
    #10
  12. gurry
    Offline

    gurry New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Hi, can you tell me why you had to change the MAF??? i had my S3 re mapped at big boys toys a few weeks ago, however when accelerating hard it seems to have a missfire or a flat flat spot?? i have heard this coud be the MAF??,
    #11
  13. monkeytrousers
    Offline

    monkeytrousers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 22, 2007]
    Does this only happen in first gear? If so, it's probably the traction control kicking in. I find the dashboard light does not always flicker when it happens in first gear.
    #12

Share This Page