1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you get R8 style lights for a3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by andyb_88, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. andyb_88

    andyb_88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1 andyb_88, Oct 14, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. gixxer600k4

    gixxer600k4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think the R8 ones will look much much better, will look like an audi spec instead of a bmw Mod
     
  4. andyb_88

    andyb_88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking for R8 style lights for the a3 but found none..

    ... the r8 lights dont fit an a3 do they?
     
  5. bluequattro

    bluequattro Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi m8, why dont you mod the existing lights and add leds to the inside of the light units, ive done this in the r8 style, il post up some pix when i get home.
     
  6. andyb_88

    andyb_88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi blue,

    I was going to but was thinking of some new lights angel eye lights aswell... just makes my car a little more personal :eek: plus i like the look of em, even if they arnt for everyone.

    Where did you get the R8 LED lights from?
    Do they just attatch on to your battery?
    Easy to fit?
     
  7. HotboxDeluxe

    HotboxDeluxe automatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    5
    [​IMG]
     
  8. bluequattro

    bluequattro Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi m8, got the leds from halfords, made by a company called prism lighting, they seem to be better made than cheaper leds ive got from ebay in the past, they wire directly into the sidelight circuit in your car,

    you will need to remove the lamps from the car first, i used the wifes hairdryer to seperate the lenses, they just pull apart, then i just hot glued the leds into place inside the lamp cluster, the glue cant be seen either, then its a reversal of what youve done to reassemble etc
    heres a few camera pix to give you an idea m8.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. gixxer600k4

    gixxer600k4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    #8 gixxer600k4, Oct 15, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  10. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    14
    Do they twinkle?
     
  11. andyb_88

    andyb_88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. G"MAN

    G"MAN GONE LOW BUT GOING LOWER

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should check the small print , i have already posted this before.

    THIS HEADLIGHT IS NOT FOR YOU - IF:
    1. Your car has automatic headlight on/off feature (with this feature in the Auto position your headlight will turn on automatically when the sensors detect "darkness").
    2. Your car has automatic rain initiated windshield washers (with this feature your washers will start automatically if the washer stalk is in the Auto position, when the sensors detect "rain").
    3. Your car already has HID Xenon for Audi - see exceptions
    Exceptions:
    A) A4/S4 B5 with HID - OK to replace
    B) A6 C5 with HID - OK to replace
    C) Audi TT 8N with HID - OK to replace
    D) All other vehicles with auto-leveling - see Special Section on Headlight Leveling.
    So why do we say this? We want the installation to be easy and simple. Cars with the above features will most likely develop technical problems for which we cannot be responsible. So it's not that you cannot order the Optek's (many have), it's just going to be a problematic installation whereby there may be extra cost issues.
     

Share This Page