1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can vagcom adjust throttle step control

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by AudiA3JJ, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    ? .... Just wondered if I could adjust the sensitivity of the throttle control via vagcom?
     
  2. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yup. Have you got Drive Select?
     
  3. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    What's drive select?
     
  4. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    ADS, Audi Drive Select, it's an option which let's you switch between vehicle settings. Don't worry if not, if you have access to VCDS then there are some coding options to improve throttle response, steering, transmission etc.
     
  5. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    He reason I'm asking is I have a very ''steppy'' response at low rpm. This causes the engine to have a very jerky engagement to first gear with the s-tronic gear box.... A real pain on hills and in reverse... Here's a video ...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvRfI13Te9M&feature=youtube_gdata_player
     
  6. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Has the car got any ECM lights on? If not i would still recommend getting it on VCDS for a scan?
     
  7. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Because if there is no hardware problems then you you'll need to go see somebody who can remap as this seems to be a very bad remap!
     
  8. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Main dealer would be able to tell you as well, they would also remove it.
     
  9. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    I just had it remapped, and by a reputable remapper that sorted out a bad map that was on it, it drives better now, however the steppy issue is still there. I'm starting to think its now to do with the throttle control or possibly the throttle plate motor in the engine
     
  10. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    Forgot to say no EM lights on.
     
  11. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Did they 'data log' it when they mapped it?
     
  12. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    They copied the old map off the car and sent that to the tuners, is that what you mean?
     
  13. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    No I mean were they use VCDS to check all your engine parameters whilst tuning it, that would be able to pick up differences in voltage requests from your accelerator etc... It would help you find what is causing the 'steppy' power. Where did you get it mapped?
     
  14. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    No they didn't check that, I got it mapped at Ridgeway's in Rotherham, they don't have vag com but they have the official audi stuff so would of thought I could take it back and get the parameters checked out. They initially thought it could be the stronic box needing its change points realigning but I find gearbox is great after first gear. Just figured you need a smooth throttle control first for a smooth transition with the gearbox.
     
  15. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best bet is to take it back to them and get it plugged into their Audi diag. (Vas) that should be able to tell you everything if they know how to use it. Otherwise take it to main dealer and they'll be able to tell you pal.
     
  16. Audi Toby!

    Audi Toby! B8 A4 S-Line

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    27
    Could be several things. But trust me it's not meant to be like that the S Tronic is fantastic. Even better after it's been mapped.
     
  17. AudiA3JJ

    AudiA3JJ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    15
    I had an amg sport merc auto for a bit and the shifting on Stronic is superior! I will try garage again they were great help before
     

Share This Page