1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can Standard Brakes Handle Revo Stage 2+ ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MB RS3, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Makka
    Offline

    Makka New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your quick answers
    #41
    KentKid and S3Alex like this.
  2. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks again mate, great reply! Literally answering everything i need :thumbsup:haha!

    Im Running 42-33psi at mo but will try the lower pressures! Big difference in PSI which is strange?

    Oh & was informed by Ben @ AmD stepping up to Revo Stage 2+ map will cost £718.80 inc vat!!!! :/

    Where as the AmD Stage 2+ map only costs £120 inc vat?!

    How can it be nearly £600 more? Crazy!:ohmy: haha!
    #42
  3. KentKid
    Offline

    KentKid Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    35
    No worries pal, I’m glad to hear you’re getting the answers you want!

    Yeah, the difference in tyre pressure figures between the sticker on my car and what most people tend to go with is pretty drastic.

    I ran the 42/33 split on my 1[SUP]st[/SUP] set of Michelin PS3’s for quite a while, and didn’t have any problems whatsoever. They also seemed to last a very long time.

    That’s one thing to bear in mind actually – the higher the psi, the longer the tyres tend to last. A lower psi figure will most likely lead to faster wearing.

    There have been various tyre pressure threads on here over the last year or so, and from what I can gauge, most people seem to go with anything between 38 and 32 psi.

    With regards to the software prices you were quoted, that’s pretty harsh!

    A £600 difference for what will essentially give you the same output figures is way too much in my opinion.

    If I were in your shoes – and seeing as you’re already running AmD Stage 1 – I’d be tempted to go with the AmD Stage 2+ remap and save the £600 to spend on other items.

    I’m sure the AmD 2+ remap is very good, and I’m sure you’ll love it – but if not, you can then keep an eye out for any Revo software deals that may come up – and I’m sure there have been deals in the past...
    #43
    MB RS3 likes this.
  4. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,640
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    I think with respect to maps,it comes down to what you want.

    Revos software comes into its own for big turbo kits and the upgrade path to that but if you don't want that , then AMDs maps should suit you very well indeed and they will set it up to your requirements.

    I've always found them to be well priced and extremely helpful.
    #44
    MB RS3 likes this.
  5. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    87
    Behave Ian!!
    #45
  6. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks for the reply again mate.

    Yeah i emailed Ben @ AmD he said "It's really not worth paying an extra £600 for the REVO map & would be a waste of money" it boils down to the fact i already have AmD software in the car so it's basically an upgrade price for the Stage 2+ so im 99% gonna go with that.. free's up £600 for say a FMIC and i bet it's still a very decent map!

    With the tyre pressures im gonna have a play around & see what feels the best setup, thanks for your info on it!

    I asked about the ITG CAI and Ben said they have recently stopped selling this, & AmD have developed there own CAI (released soon) which he stated would be as good or if not better & for alot less £ so im going to be looking at this near the end of the month, im going to go up there to get my top mounts & bearings done so if its available probably will get the CAI whilst up there!

    Cheers Again!
    #46
  7. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah your most probably right mate!

    If they were the same price i would probably go with the REVO but £720 or £120 Upgrade price seems a no brainer for me?

    I wouldn't go any further after Stage 2+ either but you obviously no your stuff with regards to bigger turbos etc!

    Im pretty sure they can set the AmD map up to almost mimic the Revo's, eg: setting it up more aggressively lower down etc.

    With pricing & professionalism can really fault them, there a top set up.
    #47
  8. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,640
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    I think you'll enjoy that lot.

    Mine is in soon for the topmounts and a few other parts,but Stg2+ really gets the car to where it should have been in the first place.
    #48
  9. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah just gonna sort the funds out & head up there haha! Gotta be done, just hope the insurance isn't hit too hard...

    What are your symptoms mate with top mounts on the way out?

    Mine is like a grindy slight knocking noise especially at slower speed say for instant in reverse on half lock.... (after being parked up for a while) im assuming its the top mounts & that's what Ben said it sounded like but we could be wrong...
    #49
  10. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,640
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Hi there...

    Nothing like that...I'm having the topmounts replaced with adjustable ones,to get increased front camber,and change the handling a bit.
    #50
  11. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Ahhh ok! Nice one! Your's sounds a BEAST to be honest!

    Do you know much about the symptoms of "worn" Top Mounts mate?
    #51
  12. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,640
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Thanks very much!

    To be honest,apart from the symptoms you describe,I don't really.

    For sure if they're worn or loose,you'll hear them clonking or grinding around.
    #52
  13. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah that's what i thought to be honest, will feel so much better when there changed!
    #53
  14. KentKid
    Offline

    KentKid Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yeah, going the AmD route’s definitely going to be the best option for you – and like you say, it will free up an extra £600 for you to spend on other Stage 2+ items.

    With regards to a FMIC, I had the Airtec fitted to my S3 late last year.

    Having an uprated FMIC already in place when having a car remapped to Stage 2+ is definitely worth considering, as AmD will then be able to map the car ‘more aggressively’ with the uprated FMIC in place – which can only been seen as a good thing!!! :-D

    I’m sure the AmD CAI will be very good. Those guys have worked with the best items available for long enough to know what they’re doing…

    Good luck with it all!
    #54
    MB RS3 likes this.
  15. MB RS3
    Offline

    MB RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks mate!

    Yeah I'm going to go with the AmD Stage 2+ in the next month or so.

    I'm actually going up there Saturday Morning, only to have some new Top Mounts & Bearings fitted along with a Short Shifter... How do you find the Short Shifter btw? Much better feeling compared to Stock?

    Ben said the new CAI should hopefully be available within the next couple of weeks, i may have misread his email regarding the new CAI & im not 100% sure whether it will be a "AmD" CAI or another company all i do know is they have stopped with the ITG which is kinda strange as it has been very popular! Fingers crossed the new one is even better eh!
    #55
  16. KentKid
    Offline

    KentKid Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yeah, the short shifter’s a great little mod – there’s a noticeable decrease in the gear throws, and it feels nice and solid as well.

    I was originally going to get the side shifter as well, but Ben advised against it – as a lot of people seem to have problems selecting the correct gear with the side shifter fitted.

    I wouldn’t worry too much about the brand of CAI AmD choose to go with to be honest.

    As stated earlier, they only tend to work with top quality products – and as with all things technology related, things evolve and get better!

    The ITG CAI is a great piece of kit – and I love it – but I have no doubt the next wave of available CAI’s will be a cut above the current and outgoing items!
    #56
    MB RS3 likes this.

Share This Page