1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I.....

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Izzy1, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2009]
    I want to change my original tape/radio player for a cd/radio player. is it just a simple swap?

    also how much should i be paying for one? and where is the best place to get one?

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. floyd 1.8 turbo
    Offline

    floyd 1.8 turbo Mirror, Signal, Outmanoeuvre

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 22, 2009]
    Its quite a simple swap, Your new cd headunit will be smaller than the original unit but will be supplied with a plastic surround to make up the difference. Halfords should sort it for you, i would personally go to a smaller car audio center as they normally know what there doing unlike the kids in halfords!!

    Expect to pay anything from £100 to £1000 depending on what you want
    #2
  4. SonicDeathmonkey
    Offline

    SonicDeathmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2009]
    Keep the tape deck. Like flares, tapes will make a come back. That's why I got an 8-track in the S4...
    #3
  5. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 22, 2009]
    Nowadays you can pick up good entry level cd's from the likes of Kenwood, Pioneer and JVC under £99. Search online.
    #4
  6. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2009]
    think i should have made it more clear. i want to replay my original audi tape unit for an Original audi CD unit. not after market.
    #5
  7. Tavli
    Offline

    Tavli Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    Why not add a changer unit? Usually this goes in the boot of the Avant or the glove box on the saloon (correct me if I am wrong), I have an S4 with the cd chnager in the boot - job done.:s4addict:
    #6
  8. mugglesquop
    Offline

    mugglesquop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    presumably these just connect into the back of the tape/radio unit somewhere?

    Do you know if they play copied CDs? i hate having originals in the car, always end up scratched :banghead:

    Cheers
    #7
  9. heymynameismark
    Offline

    heymynameismark Cool beans.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    I had a £64 Panasonic CD/MP3 headunit in my Polo & Civic for a total of about 3 years between them. It was AWESOME! Had an AUX in so I always ran my iPod into it. My mum and dad have it in their car now since I got the Audi (in which I'm gonna get an iPod adapter)

    So there's awesome bargains to be had for well under £100 these days for HUs :)
    #8
  10. heymynameismark
    Offline

    heymynameismark Cool beans.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    Just read a couple posts up the way... didn't read you want an OE head unit. My bad!
    #9
  11. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    i've had a look on the bay and OE head units are fetching some silly monies...
    just seen one on there for £175 + P&P surely the dealership will sell them for less...

    might pop down to the local scrappy and see if he's got anything.
    #10
  12. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    I personally think aftermarket units are usually better spec and better looking than oe manufacturers stuff. Each to their own and all that thou!
    #11
  13. mugglesquop
    Offline

    mugglesquop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    i've got a normal Sony unit to go in mine... ordered the blanks off eBay.

    anyone got any hints on getting the old one out? found the two little slots, but none of the keys i have work :banghead:

    cheers
    #12
  14. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    i've got a pioneer dvd screen in my VW but don't want that in the Audi as the radio signal isn't great. i mainly listen to the radio as i tend to get tired of CD's very quickly. but in the A4 i don't have the option of CD and don't own any cassettes.
    so best option is to get a OEM CD player with radiom that way i'll have good radio signal and the cd option. anyone selling an AUDI CD player?
    #13
  15. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    muggles...

    is your audi facelift? if so just pull on the surround and it will clip off giving you access to the screws for the HU.
    #14
  16. mugglesquop
    Offline

    mugglesquop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2009]
    no, '97 pre facelift :(

    any particular reason you want to stick with OEM? the Sony unit i have is all red LEDs, so should fit in quite well (i hope). Radio signal was actually better (finer tuning) than the OEM that used to be in my beemer.

    cheers anyway, and good luck with your search :beerchug:
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
    #15
  17. mugglesquop
    Offline

    mugglesquop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    was thinking this morning, if you change the head unit to a non-OEM one, would you loose the display by the clocks in the Dash? currently says radio station etc. Anyone know if the display can this be used with non-OEM units?

    Cheers :)
    #16
  18. Izzy1
    Offline

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    I would have thought it's just an OEM thing, I could be wrong. lets see what the more experienced fellas have to say.
    #17
  19. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    You are right, it is an oem option. The oem hu does look better than most after market, but there are a few which blend in nicely if you are willing to search and pay the price. Becker make a very good hu for instance. Swapping hu's is simple, even with an after market one. Both are plug and play except the after market one will need an adapter plug which plugs into your loom and the other end staright into the back of your hu
    #18
  20. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    oem cd player (a6/tt one is the correct size) wont work properly without a can bus simulator (£40 kufatec.de) but still wont display in dash
    i run them purely because i dont want my car broken into and i got them dirt cheap

    aftermarket youll need facia adapters, harness adaptor and aerial amplifier thingy or radio reception will be very poor

    as suggested best option is cd changer, plug will already be in boot
    #19
  21. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    I didnt need a harness adaptor, as most stereo looms have the little flylead with the changable contacts anyway. I did have to add a switched live though, using a relay and a feed from the fusebox.

    Interesting point on the ariel amplifier... I dont have one?
    #20
  22. mugglesquop
    Offline

    mugglesquop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    Cheers for the info :beerchug:

    is the radio reception usually ok?
    #21
  23. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    ye i think so?

    Mines an avant though, and has a beesting on the roof if that makes any difference?

    I think some of the saloons had it in the rear window?
    #22
  24. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    oe radio reception is excellent but you loose powered amplified aerial when you switch to aftermarket
    #23
  25. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    So my beesting is amplified?
    #24
  26. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    I'm pretty sure that my brotehr just worked through the wiring diagram to find the live for the aerial amplifier and then fed that from the headunit wiring. My reception isn't much worse than teh factory deck but has teh added benefit of sounding very nice. Only downside is the deck I use (Alpine 9812RB) doesn't even come close to blending in with the dash, in fact it stands out rather a lot, price I'm willing to pay for good sounds though
    #25
  27. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 24, 2009]
    yep

    the harness adaptor is to allow all speakers to work as oe harness only has 4 connections not 8, how did you get around not fitting one
    #26

Share This Page