1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I up the boost by attaching a bleed valve on my Audi 2.0 TDi Quattro

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by davidnormanuk, Sep 9, 2013.

  1. davidnormanuk
    Offline

    davidnormanuk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Morning all,

    Is it possible to add a bleed valve to my 2005 Audi A3 TDi Quattro? I think the new turbo isn't set up correctly and with it being a bit of a pig to adjust the actuator on the car I wondered if I could add a bleed valve to it to confirm this is the case. If so where do I add it? I attached it to the vacuum hose that goes to the actuator but this made the car even worse so I have put this back to normal. It's not a permanent add I'm just interested to see if this makes a difference before shelling out money on other parts.

    I will also be attaching a boost gauge to make sure I don't go over the standard pressure.

    Cheers
    Dave
    #1
  2. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    141
    I wouldnt reallt f*** with the actuator when your not a turbo specialist or tuner risky business, just take it to someone like midland VW they could do it for you
    #2
  3. S3Alex
    Online

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,635
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    As below.

    Also...why would you add a bleed valve to the actuator,if not to increase the boost pressure at which it opens the wastegate?,and also as your mod made the car worse,it's quite possible it actually was working properly in the first case.

    Take it to someone who knows how to set things up for you.
    #3
  4. davidnormanuk
    Offline

    davidnormanuk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand peoples worry with regards to setting things up correctly. This is on the list to do but I'm trying to rule out possible faults before I take it somewhere and find out I can replace / repair parts myself. If the actuator is goosed I can replace this myself before taking it to get setup correctly. I am new to the Diesel Scene but I am learning as I go along. I try and do as much research as possible to understand how everything works before going ahead and going mad.
    #4
  5. RobbieWebs
    Offline

    RobbieWebs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    170
    Just a quick question but who installed the new turbo for u ?
    Surely if it was a garage they should have set it up for u?
    U can't really skimp with things like these, get it booked in to a specialist and set up properly.
    More expensive in the long run if u end up damaging it. :)
    #5
  6. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    141
    Turbo should come ready to run but if you went to a random bot well known place then thats probably why its messed up, take it to a well knows garage to sort it out mate
    #6
  7. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    74
    I'm fairly certain if u upped the boost the car would just hit limp mode from overboosting anyway. I could be wrong
    #7
  8. RobbieWebs
    Offline

    RobbieWebs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    170
    Just a thought but if uv put a new turbo in and are going to get it checked over/ set up,why not kill 2 birds with one stone and get it remapped?
    Can't complain of lack of boost then ;)
    #8
    TDI140 likes this.
  9. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    the actuator on a TDi doesn't work in the same manor as one on a petrol. I'd get the car logged, if boost is meeting requested, it's working. It's more likely your old turbo was overboosting and now you have a working one it feels a bit slower
    #9

Share This Page