1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can i ran methanol kit without re tune my ecu?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by GeoA3, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car has a custom map
    I bought methanol kit can run it without new map?
    My set is
    A3 1.8t agu 98
    K03 hybrid
    Downpipe
    Inlet samco
    Fmic
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,224
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Yes.... you can't 'tune' for it as such as that would require map tweaks but adding WMI with a sensible nozzle size will keep intake temps down and the power will be more consistent rather than dropping off due to heat build up

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have nozzle for about 260hp
    So do i gain any more horsepower?
     
  5. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    not without mapping to suit no. You will gain more consistant power though
     
  6. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks
     
  7. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    308
    You should see a gain even without a map change due to the lower air temp, especially on the rolling road.

    Rick
     
  8. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok then i started install it
    where is the best place to take boost source fot the boost switch?
     
  9. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    boost gauge...
    or any vacuum source (apart from fpr)
     
  10. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    what kit did you get
     
  11. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    coolingmist stage 1
     
  12. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Same here!

    works great
     
  13. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    cant wait to try it :)
    can you post some pictures of the nozzle how did you drilled in the silicone hose?
     
  14. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,224
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Errgghhh!!!... don't use a crappy silicon nozzle adaptor... they are absolute rubbish...

    <tuffty/>
     
  15. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    What tou use then?
     
  16. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,224
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Boss welded onto an alloy pipe... usually the FMIC outlet or a pipe coming off that... depends on the setup you have..

    <tuffty/>
     
  17. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    What tuffty said..

    I'll get some pics later and post em on here
     
  18. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thank you
     
  19. g60leigh

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    176
    Tuffty. Do you know what size alloy pipe is needed 60mm or 51mm.
    On a K04 install

    Thank you ;)
     
  20. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,224
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    60mm is std, depends if you have modded your pipework with a FMIC install for instance... if still running the std SMIC's then I would spend your money on a decent FMIC before going WMI..

    <tuffty/>
     
  21. phil miller

    phil miller Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    110
    mines here

    [​IMG]

    welded boss on as Tuffty says
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Has anyone experimented with nozzle position? I notice Phils is on top and spraying down. Mine is on the side so sprays across. Has anyone got theirs on the bottom spraying up? Wonder of there's a better position that ensures the best spread of mixture and reduces any risk of pooling :think:
     
  24. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8,510
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    be good if the boss was angled so it sprays downstream
     
  25. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    That's another good idea.

    Could even run 2 small nozzles pointing in 2 directions to cover all bases ;)
     
  26. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Thats a good idea westy, Only think I would be worries about is spraying too much into the engine.

    I think last year when I went to R-tech, Nick had quiet a few nozzles spraying on his car
     
  27. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    Yeah you'd need to have the right amount of spray still. So instead of 1 medium sized nozzle, have 2 small nozzles.

    I'm sure ive seen pics of some car with 2 or 3 nozzles on the metal charge people and no intercooler at all!
     
  28. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Thats crazy, I cant remember how many nick had but im sure it was more than 2. doesnt really matter as he kows what he's doing.

    I think it all depends on the amount of air flow that goes through the thottle body. that way you can determine the amount of spray that the air can carry. if that makes sense.

    probably best done on a dyno to get the correct setup. or maybe bill might know as he must do loads of these
     
  29. g60leigh

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    176
    Sorry I should of mentioned I have a V1 AH fabs intercooler set up so am guessing it will be the 60mm
     
  30. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,224
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    The outlets still 51mm on those? fitted one a while back that had 63mm bends fitted to it...

    If its the 51mm variant then you 'should' have 51mm 45 deg alloy bends either side... you can use those but if I were spec'n it again I would have attempted to get 60mm in there using either 51mm to 60mm 45 deg silicon off the FMIC and use 60mm alloy bends or better still get 90 deg 60mm alloy bends welded on to the FMIC like I did...

    <tuffty/>
     
  31. phil miller

    phil miller Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    110
    hmm a couple of small nozzles would give a better mist i would of thought, a part of me thought it was my meth that made ron burn a valve but now i think it was just valves that were on route to heaven and waited until 21psi boost was being played with
     
  32. GeoA3

    GeoA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    soo i better drill on the fmic pipe not the silicone one?
     
  33. Paradox1

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yeah drill the alloy pipe and get a 1/8NPT boss welded in.

    or

    If your broke like me, use some chemical metal epoxy to seal it:arco:
     
  34. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,224
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    An alloy pipe of some description yes... most people that are at the WMI stage will have a FMIC fitted... if you haven't then spend your money there first... most FMIC installs require a degree of custom pipework normally consisting of alloy pipes and silicon hoses... you would need to identify a suitable alloy pipe in your setup to use and get a boss welded to it...

    You can see the boss I had welded on my original custom pipework here..
    [​IMG]

    <tuffty/>
     

Share This Page