1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can I get rid of a brake pad warning light by unplugging it?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jcb, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 19, 2012]
    does it only come on when the circuit is closed by the contact on the disc?
    pads are fine, not worn at all

    blody light is on and I need the MOT done
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. spartacus 68
    Offline

    spartacus 68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Mar 19, 2012]
    If the pads are fine, check the connectors. Sometimes releasing them, giving them a brush and burst of compressed air, then reconnecting them until you hear them 'click' is all that's required. Also check the wiring. Not uncommon to damage the wiring during brake maintenance. Easy enough to fix with a soldering iron, then heat-shrink the exposed wire. I've also repaired the wire where it enters the pad, and secured with a spot of epoxy to protect.
    #2
  4. NineNails
    Offline

    NineNails Proud sponsor of the snack food industry

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Just bridge the plug on the car side with a small piece of wire but if the pads are worn too thin it may fail they mot anyway...
    #3
  5. Nez
    Offline

    Nez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Just bridge the plug on the car each side with a small piece of wire thats what I done on my car :)
    #4
  6. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    pads are brand new when I got the car.
    nothing wrong there. this is an A6

    my car has never had indicator pads and am pretty sure the connectors are unbridged and there is no light.

    does it work by breaking the connection to bring the light on, rather than making a connection?

    cheers
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,791
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Its a loop to ground via each pad.

    Once worn (or unplugged) the path to ground disappears and the light comes on.

    If there are no wear sensors on the pads, then bridge the wires!

    Your TQS will have wear sensors if it has a Digital clock, and like mine, the wires are probably bridged inside the car, just before the wires poke out into the wheel well.
    #6

Share This Page