1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can i get hold of new buttons?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MR B A3, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. MR B A3
    Offline

    MR B A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    As some of you have probably experienced the + and - buttons on my climate control unit in my A3 have become worn and was wondering if anyone knew somewhere i could get some replacements from, cheers
    #1
  2. Scott_Hol
    Offline

    Scott_Hol Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    8
    Fleebay is your answer m8
    #2
  3. DSB
    Offline

    DSB Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was going to post something similar soon actually......do they simply 'prise' off with a bit of gentle force ?
    #3
  4. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    How much do the actual climate units sell for? 2nd hand obviously
    #4
  5. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    they dont prise off, you need to strip the unit to get them out. It's held together with torx.

    I must say, my car is a 53 plate & they still look like new LOL.................
    #5
  6. DSB
    Offline

    DSB Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok thanks mate ...... oh and I dont care how good yours look :moa:
    #6
  7. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    LOL

    maybe its the handcream i use ROFL

    mine are a natty white now :)

    [​IMG]
    #7
  8. DSB
    Offline

    DSB Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sparkly :thumbsup:
    #8
  9. Scott_Hol
    Offline

    Scott_Hol Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    8
    Whats involved? drop me a pm mate cheers
    #9
  10. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    PM me too mate... interested in this!
    #10
  11. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    am doin my rnse the moment ;) and window switches will post pic tonight
    #11
  12. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    so are you guys replacing the leds and the red filter on the individual switches?
    #12
  13. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    [​IMG]

    sorry for the poor quality, when i get the clusters and sat nav put in i will take some propa pic :D
    #13
  14. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Most of them are 3mm red LEDs, you need to desolder old ones & replace them with white ones.

    I'm sure this was the ones I used:

    10 x ULTRA BRIGHT WHITE PLCC-2 SMD LEDs SMT LED PLCC2 | eBay UK

    Need a steady hand! Mine work but the soldering isn't pretty LOL
    #14
  15. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30

    WOW, thats a lot more braver than I! I didnt dare to do my RNS-E

    Does the RNS-E use the same SMD LEDs?
    #15
  16. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    looking at amar's pic i dont think its worth doing this without changing over the cluster to the white version. looks a little out of place without it. i personally like red and am planning on getting more red in my car... maybe some red mood lighting max power styleee lol

    well done to you guys though... im useless with a soldering iron!
    #16
  17. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    I know he was planning to do the cluster swap too. One part we hadn't sussed was the display on the aircon - needs a new diffuser thats not red/pink.
    #17
  18. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Just noticed you have done the wheel too :thumbsup:
    #18
  19. Scott_Hol
    Offline

    Scott_Hol Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    8
    How much is the white cluster mod?
    #19
  20. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    depends on how much you can source one for, they are expensive from Audi to buy new. I'm guessing about the £100 mark plus cost of coding the immobilizer.
    #20
  21. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    yea gone that, done headlight switch and the window switches

    here few more pic from my test i did,
    first sat nav (now is wast as i messed up the tilt but have got it sussed now :D)

    [​IMG]

    the climate controll screen am not very sure about this, this is the best i can i do, other option is change the ink in the screen need a expert for that

    [​IMG]

    car should be out soon from dealers and yes i am goin to get the clusters done :D
    #21
  22. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Well done, the RNS-E looks like its going to be both fun & rewarding and effort LOL

    What did you use as a diffuser? I've still to strip my old phone to see if its an option. Mind you, not sure I could solder those as they use 4 pins, not a 2 pins i've done.
    #22
  23. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    lol it was my heart was pumping when i switched it on because i messed the tilt up on my on my first rns,

    i used like a white plastic sheet behind the diffuser to balance the light i fink i cut that out from a lg vhs tape cover :D,
    the 4 pins are tricky to do, i suggest you try it out on a spare climate control first.
    #23
  24. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    How did you get the headlight switch dial apart?
    #24
  25. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    3 T4 screws behind it and straight access to the main Bord were the lights are
    #25

Share This Page