1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I Fit a 2001 Audi S3 Gearbox In My Standard 1.8t Quattro 2000 A3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by RobinWilko, Feb 26, 2014.

1. RobinWilko

RobinWilko New Member

[Feb 26, 2014]
    Hi, I'm new to this so I apologise if I don't make sense.
    I currently own a 2000 audi a3 1.8t Quattro and the gearbox is getting to the end of its life. I was wondering if it is possible to fit a S3 gearbox in its place? obviously a gearbox of the same year or close to. and if so is there any extra things I will need to purchase?
    hope you lads can help. thanks
  2. Ads

Ads

[Dec 26, 2014]

3. Alex C

Alex C Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

[Feb 27, 2014]
    Sandra likes this.
  4. <tuffty/>

<tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

[Feb 27, 2014]
    Yes you can use an S3 gear box (or a TT one for that matter)...

Is yours the 5 speed box or the 6 speed box?

Main differences between these boxes other than a few gear ratios is the cable connection points and transfer box bracket design... early boxes use a ball and socket for gear cable connections where later boxes use a pin and clip type setup... earlier boxes use an alloy bracket for the transfer box support to the back of the block, later boxes uses a steel one... 2001 is a change over year so early AMK S3's have the ball/socket and alloy bracket setup while later AMK's (and BAM's) have the pin/clip and steel bracket setup...