1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can DIS be retrofitted????

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Deanphoto, Sep 12, 2007.

  1. Deanphoto
    Offline

    Deanphoto fell down the stairs :(

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 12, 2007]
    Evening all, I cocked up on my order for the car and didn't add DIS, I thought I was told it was standard on the special edition...I was proven wrong though...

    I have 2 questions regarding this....

    1). Can it be retro-fitted? (Big job I imagine)

    2). If I was to install RNS-E (and cruie for that matter), would it work without DIS??

    Not sure if anyone can answer this one as from the various forum I follow nobody has retro-fitted DIS
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 22, 2014]

  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 12, 2007]
    I retro-fitted the DIS trip computer to my Dad's B7 A4, I know its not the same car but I cant see why you cant just change the wiper stalk for one that has the trip compuer buttons on and then re-program it with VAG-COM like I did for the A4.

    Cruise and RNS-E will work fine with no DIS.
    #2
  4. Deanphoto
    Offline

    Deanphoto fell down the stairs :(

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 12, 2007]
    Well thats good news about the RNS-E and cruise!

    I thought the LCD screens differ between DIS and non DIS though as mine has lots of symbols on it, door open etc etc, I could post a pic tomorrow.:confused:
    #3
  5. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,757
    Likes Received:
    264
    [Sep 12, 2007]
    I've never been too clear on non-DIS cars tbh.

    When the A3 first came out, cars without DIS had a panel in its place with little symbols for various warnings and so on, like the other standard symbols inside the rev counter and speedo.

    A while later I was told that all cars now came with the LCD screen but non-DIS cars simply had the vast majority of functions disabled so it didn't do much. That made sense as they don't have to build two different instrument binnacles.

    Now, from what you're saying, it sounds like you have the original panel of symbols rather than the LCD?
    #4
  6. Deanphoto
    Offline

    Deanphoto fell down the stairs :(

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 12, 2007]
    Spot on!

    This is what is making me think it might be a BIG job, and probably not worth it.:keule:

    I'll take some photo's tonight when I get home at silly o'clock and post them up so you can see what I mean.

    Cheers for your help so far!
    #5
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Sep 13, 2007]
    When you say retrofit you mean changing the whole instrument panel anyway don't you? They're different.
    #6

Share This Page