1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can audi check if your car's been remapped???

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by whitex8p, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. whitex8p
    Offline

    whitex8p Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thinking about getting a remap but i have a audi uk warranty for a year and do not want to void it if they know my cars been mapped.
    #1
  2. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    When I had my software update the tech asked me if my car was chipped as he would be unable to tell and if it was it could wreck the ecu with the update he said tuners are getting pretty clever now but I would think your car will link to audi's server while in for a service and they could tell
    #2
  3. wanton
    Online

    wanton Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thinking of getting a REVO STS unit for this very reason...
    #3
  4. whitex8p
    Offline

    whitex8p Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    can you get around it with that then?
    #4
  5. wanton
    Online

    wanton Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    14
    Cant say for definite as I believe the ecu does have a faciltiy to store readings but from what I can tell it wont save any previous maps and will only display the current map. I have been speaking to REVO head office re maping and adding a few extras and they said they will call back on Monday. I will ask their technical support when they do call as I would like a definitive answer as well.
    #5
  6. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    95
    You are in exactly the same position as me :)

    Just bought my S3 and its screaming for a map on it but I don't want to invalidate the warranty.

    Head says wait and heart says go 2+ :rockwoot:
    #6
  7. SPARTAN91
    Offline

    SPARTAN91 RED FIVE STANDING BY

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    97
    With my bluefin unit I am able to upload the original OEM map back to the ecu and then remap again afterwards.But not sure if there is a log keep someware of uploads and downloads
    #7
  8. whitex8p
    Offline

    whitex8p Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    haha :) i think i am going to wait until i know more, as i think the ecu might store readings.
    #8
  9. wanton
    Online

    wanton Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah that's the same with the REVO STS unit. I am going for the REVO unit as it has three setting for fully customised maps, stock map and Immobiliser map. You can switch between all of them when you want. One of the maps can be a "Valet Mode" map where the car wont rev to more than 3.5k and NO boost. Should stop any garage joy riders lol.


    White once you have more info and if you are thinking of REVO mapping your car let me know. Might be able to get a better discount for the both of us lol.
    #9
  10. R34nel
    Offline

    R34nel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    31
    it's called a revo sps and it won't put the oem map back on, it is a switch and literally switches values in the revo map, yes you can select stock mode etc but it's still the revo map but set to boost level 1 which is approx stock power, valet mode (3k revs, no boost) is setting 0.

    The sps unit can not restore the stock map or upload different maps it is merely a switch which allows fine tuning etc and anti theft mode
    #10
    warren_S5 likes this.
  11. wanton
    Online

    wanton Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ahhh thanks for the info. Didnt realise it was like that. I just presumed the STS unit was more like the Shark unit.
    #11
  12. DJ-S3
    Offline

    DJ-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    42
    Also the anti theft mode, so incase the thief gets your keys they can start the car, but as soon as the try to engage a gear or rev the engine it reduces its revs until the engine stops. Pretty cool. I use it when I'm on my holiday.
    #12
  13. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    95
    Is that with Revo software?

    Only reason I ask is I had Revo stage 1 on my Leon K1 and didnt know about this, I had the SPS unit but that was just geared up for valet / v power / normal petrol.
    #13
  14. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    140
    They usually ask if any mods have been done but they usually recet ecu which wipes the map they did that to mine when it went for injector and wiring loom replacement so i had to get it mapped again but as it was my mate he didnt charge me
    #14
  15. DJ-S3
    Offline

    DJ-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    42
    As far as I'm aware yes. It's the first time I've had the sps switch from revo. Other times I've just have the remap and not bothered with the switch.

    0-computer
    1-v power
    2-not as much boost
    3-stock
    4-valet mode
    5-anti theft on
    6-anti theft off
    9-software updates

    I think that's the order, but that's definitely the numbers and I know 0, 5, 6 and 9 are correct. The others could be the opposite way round.
    #15
  16. batch
    Offline

    batch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    73
    Spoke to a dealer a little while back, their 'S' car service specialist said they don't mind too much from their point of view as long as the car's clearly looked after and it will only affect warranty if it causes a problem which clearly can't be attributed to anything else. Won't name names but I was really impressed by their attitude towards it.
    #16
  17. whitex8p
    Offline

    whitex8p Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am in two minds what to do now, sure i will get a remap at some point lol just going to enjoy my s3 standard for a while.
    #17
  18. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    701
    Any tuner who claims that their remap is undetectable is lying.

    There are flash counters in most ECUs, and anyone who know what they are doing can load maps and compare with original, look at checksums etc.

    But many Audi dealers don't care, or will be sensible about it, or just reflash back to stock.
    #18
  19. max69vk
    Offline

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    43
    As above, there are 'flash counters' stored on the ECU, even if these aren't looked at the ECU logs date & time of the MAP + updated time. Looking at this will clearly indicate if something's been done & that's even before they start looking into things like boost pressure & fuelling measurements etc.
    #19
  20. whitex8p
    Offline

    whitex8p Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    I think i am going to leave it until my warranty runs out, I am really tempted tho still.
    #20
  21. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    32
    This has been discussed lots, I'd like to see proof of date and time logs. I'm under the impression as are many others that it is only a counter and doesn't give such details of exactly when it was done, a car is flashed a few times before leaving factory so will have lots of "counters" on it already as standard
    #21
  22. max69vk
    Offline

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    43
    If I was anywhere near my car I'd happily upload a screenshot, alas for me I'm off to sunnier climes for a while. When I get back I'll upload a screenshot of the info from VCDS as it clearly shows the MAP info (I.e. not Audi code/identity) with dates of the upload and the file date.
    #22
  23. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    796
    Guys my 2012 S3 is remapped stage 2 and the garage know it but I always upload the original map just to keep them sweet. As said before while it may not be physically apparent it is relatively easy to find out by comparing the contents of the ECU with a standard one, by verifying the checksum (a value calculated against the contents of the ECU), and by taking the vehicle for a test drive and taking some logs of the data provided by the ECU. Remapping is NOT undetectable.

    Many dealerships are aware of remaps and are not scared of them, some even offer them! It is important to note that a manufacturer cannot refuse a warranty claim on your car because it is remapped, they would have to prove that any failure was directly caused or affected by the remap. This is always a grey area and some people prefer the "head in the sand" approach where other people are more up front with their dealers. Remember that a dealer wants your business, so perhaps find a more understanding dealer or use an independent specialist if you are experiencing problems.
    #23
  24. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    My S3 has been remapped with Bluefin since about 750 miles and I've had no issues with the dealers.

    When in for any work I have removed the map to make sure it doesn't get overwritten if an update is released. It did get an update at one point but I was able to reapply the Bluefin map as normal.

    Also, I had my clutch and DMF changed under warranty when they knew the car was remapped. I had to write to Audi UK to get it authorised but they still did it.
    #24
  25. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    361
    Reverting to the stock Audi map is one of the main reasons I bought a Bluefin too! I still have an Audi warranty to look after and didn't want to be back\forth to get the car mapped again after any future factory software update. Another reason was because the Bluefin is a relatively mild map in comparison to some others & is therefore less likely to stress components to\beyond breaking point.
    #25
  26. whitex8p
    Offline

    whitex8p Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    You are quite lucky then, knowing my luck they wouldn't repair it. I will probably go for a bluefin then when i get bored of the standard power.
    #26
  27. Revo Steve-W
    Offline

    Revo Steve-W Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    68
    20% Sale on at the moment and should the REVO map be overwritten by the dealer, then we do not recharge for the software, as long as you keep your receipt. Please feel free to call the office to discuss further or for any technical questions - 01327 301 901

    Attached Files:

    #27
    JJ.Foulds likes this.

Share This Page