1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can a vw dealer reset my service light?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Andy D, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. Andy D
    Offline

    Andy D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    Went and booked my A4 1.9TDI 130 infor a service today, also waiting on them to get back to me with the price of getting the timing belt done.

    The car is booked in for next Thursday, the service manager said to me that he wouldn't be able to reset the service light:scared2:

    Is it the case that the Vw dealers can't reset the service light? I'm sure they probably can as in some cases there are little more than a couple of badges to differentiate between VW nd Audi marques.

    Any help appreciatted....cheers:icon_thumright:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    Yes they can, the clues in the name - VAGCOM (not AUDICOM)
    #2
  4. Andy D
    Offline

    Andy D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    Why would they say they couldn't? I might phone Vw customer services and find out if they are directing their service depts to send other VAG cars to their own network of dealers.

    Maybe the guy was just being awkward because I bought my car and service plan at another Arnold Clark dealer and decided to use his garage for the free service rather than the original Vauxhall dealer.
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    They said a similar thing to me when I dragged my A4 into Peter Coopers VW (as I refuse to use Southampton Audi). They said some of the VW diagnostics won't work on an Audi, but simple service indicator reset isn't an issue. Plenty of people on here get their Audi's serviced at Skoda or VW dealers so no idea why they try to put people off. As you say probably a directive from VAG in order to keep the Audi dealers from going bust.
    #4
  6. Garry
    Offline

    Garry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    If the guy beleives this to be true,then it's time to look elswhere,because he does'nt know what he's talking about.If you were closer to me I would do it for free.
    #5
  7. Andy D
    Offline

    Andy D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    TBH my service indicator is not yet lit, My last service was a longlife service 10k ago so It shouldn't light for another few thousand mils. and doesn't really need a service.

    I just like to get value for money, I paid 200 quid for two services and two MOT's which I have to use in two years if I don't use them I'll lose them.

    I was thinking that the onboard gadgetry would need updated just to reset the indicator before it actually comes on.

    will the cars own diagnostics etc pick up that the oil/filters etc are all not needing changed?
    #6
  8. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    anyone can reset the service indicator, from 1998 audi designed it so you can do it without VAGCOM.

    To reset the "SERVICE!" indicator ignition must be "off".
    Hold in the wrench button on instrument cluster, and at the same time turn your key forward (without starting).
    While still holding the "wrench" button in, press the "0,0" button and hold until the "SERVICE!" notification clears (about 2-3 seconds).

    bob is your uncles sisters aunties cat!!! :icon_thumright:
    #7
  9. Garry
    Offline

    Garry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    No it has to be reset via Vagcom,but on some VW/Audis,it can be reset with the button's on the dash,check your driver hand book,if it can be done on your model,the instructions are in there.
    #8
  10. Andy D
    Offline

    Andy D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    Thanks 1210tech, I'm sure others will do as I have and paste your instructions onto a word doc for later use.:icon_thumright:
    #9
  11. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    It was in my A4 handbook.
    #10
  12. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko A5 TSFI

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    Really? i must look for that!
    #11
  13. bubstar
    Offline

    bubstar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    Always RTFM before posting!!! Even my sisters '98 A3 owners manual tells you how to reset the SI.

    Also, don't be too sure that a VW dealer can reset an Audi for 'longlife service'. (you need a dealer or VAGCOM to do this)

    VAGCOM is NOT a Volkswagon AG tool, it's made by Ross Tech in the US for use on most VAG cars.

    BUB :thumbsup:
    #12
  14. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 28, 2008]
    Thats one book i can say for sure it is in.
    How is the old banger?:icon_thumright:
    #13
  15. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko A5 TSFI

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2008]
    Going very well. Getting treated to some new shoes tomorrow.
    #14
  16. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2008]
    i take mine to midlandvw who are an independent vw/audi specialist to have it serviced. it is on a long life service schedule and they don't have a problem resetting the service light :icon_thumright:
    #15
  17. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 28, 2008]
    What you gone for?
    #16
  18. bubstar
    Offline

    bubstar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2008]
    Yes that's my point Dude, they will be using VAGCOM!

    :beerchug:
    #17
  19. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko A5 TSFI

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2008]
    19" AMG Style 6....for now LOL!
    #18
  20. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko A5 TSFI

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    Ok.

    Put the key in but dont turn it.

    Hold the wrench, then turn the key one click. Press 0, then hold 0 until the service schedule disappears.
    #19
  21. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    i would imagine they have got vagcom but they didn't use it on mine.
    when i went to pick it up after it had been serviced they hadn't reset it so i asked them to do it and they guy showed me how to reset it :icon_thumright:
    #20
  22. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    What you doing with the carlsson ones?Are they still in mint condition?
    #21
  23. Rocko
    Offline

    Rocko A5 TSFI

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 1, 2008]
    Minty mint. They're for sale now.
    #22
  24. WilkoS3
    Offline

    WilkoS3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 1, 2008]
    I had my Avant serviced by my local VW garage last month. The service light is out but the next service number of miles and days when you push the service button still shows just dashes ----! How long does this take to re-calculate? I'm sure it doesn't normally take this long.
    #23
  25. bubstar
    Offline

    bubstar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 1, 2008]

    Yes it's in the manual as said but using the buttons only will just reset to annual/10k servicing.

    You need VAGCOM to reset AVS (longlife) servicing.

    BUB :thumbsup:
    #24
  26. Andy D
    Offline

    Andy D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 1, 2008]
    I just went out and checked my service indicator, it says 7500 miles, as it was a longlife service.

    I'm getting the service done 7500 miles too soon but then I'm only getting a 10k service carried out as it's free and if I don't use it I'll lose it.

    I'll just reset the service indicator myself if I need to.

    I'll get another free one in another 10k....happy days!...lol
    #25

Share This Page